Skip to content

Dilli 6..

March 13, 2009

I asked my soul : what is Delhi?
She replied: The world is the soul and Delhi its life.
-Mirza Asadullah Khan Ghalib

A bit late in writing this post I suppose.:)

This post is not just about Dilli6 or even Rakesh Omprakash Mehra’s skills as a director or A.R Rehman’s genius, though all of that is here too:)

Dilli6 .

A movie that each Dilliwallah will understand.
How can anyone not like the movie?

It is Dilli. From the heart and soul.
Rakesh Omprakash Mehra has paid a tribute to the city he loves.The one he and all of us, the ones who live here,have lived here infact, carry in our hearts.

Dilli6 could also easily have been about Luckhnow or Varanasi or Indore or Etawah or Lahore .

I was engrossed from the first frame itself.
I could remember my childhood vacations at Nani and Nanu’s home and Dadi and Dadu’s home.A different state mine was and yet the emotions were the same.

These conversations were the ones I too had heard as a kid. The women of the neighbourhood sat on the terrace chatting in the winter sun. Men too. The whole ‘Mohalla’ infact.:)
Just like this …

The scenes felt like I was revisiting family..my extended family.
You could jump from your terrace to a neighbour’s and have fun while doing it.:)

I read in a review somewhere that there are too many characters in the movie . That there is so much happening in each frame that its hard to know where to look.

Movies are not always about one family or one man/woman story are they?

How about a movie for all of us? The society? The one which we live in?
The one where a dozen different things DO happen simultaneously.And a dozen people are talking and creating a din?:D

The characters are whimsical and warm. A feeling of warmth enevelopes you as you watch the movie.

Rakesh Omprakash Mehra’s attention to detail is mindboggling.
The way he connects the Ramlila to the story and the way the screenplay progresses is amazing in itself.

Tell me, when was the last time you saw such an ensemble cast and yet the director had successfully managed to capture each emotion just so?

Dilli and Chandni Chowk ,so synonymous with each other for so many people.
I could smell the Delhi air in each frame.
Dilli ki khushboo:)
There are beautifully shot vignettes that capture Delhi life in its myriad hues.

The lesson has been interwoven beautifully with the story.
A bit too obvious but I would take this obviousness (umm is there such a word?) over the ‘subtle’ cinema anyday.Or over the KJo cinema too:D

And yes,some of you might say that it sounds too preachy .:)

Frankly, I couldn’t see how or where it sounded preachy, but I would say this.
Sometimes the best messages are the ones which are the most simple to understand :)
Not by you and me. But by everyone who goes to watch a movie.The masses.

Read how brilliantly Rakesh has described the movie.(umm not ROM but the other Rakesh :D)

And how Dhiren or Hitchwriter has described it here . Dhiren is absolutely right about the intention of the movie.

As a filmmaker ROM is doing a wonderful job. He forces the movie going janta to think. When was the last time you were able to say that about a director? This is not a work of genius . It just is a good movie made from the heart.

And then another review here,Freespirit’s :)
She writes,”Seriously, this movie brings out all the hypocrisies we, as a people, still entertain. There is so much meaning in this movie yet most of us are blind to it, just as we are blind to our own faults. The mad fakir who goes around with a mirror clutched in his hand, asking everyone to take a look, is perhaps the wisest among all.”

Absolutely! I agree. How can one not find any meaning in this movie?

And read IHM’s review ,she writes beautifully and with an insight that’s rare ,There is the way the women dance, I have seen women dance exactly like that. The movie made me want to call my mom.
And another girl waiting to get married, so her life can begin …
About women bonding not scheming against each other like in Ekta Kapoor serials …
The girl’s rebellion – not because there is a boy friend in the back ground but because she wants more from her life.

Delhi-6 is about everything we blog about. And then some more.
Gender discrimination Communalism. Politicians. Corrupt Policeman. Caste-ism. Sensationalising Media. Our hypocrisies. Our infrastructure. Our Traffic situation.

…and yet Delhi-6 does not judge us. The director is almost affectionate towards the people in Delhi-6 and their follies.
And Ramleela.
Delhi 6 is….
Bright coloured, earthy, ethnic prints, parandis, chunky silver armlets and bangles, roof tops, winter afternoons, Ramleela, jalebis, courage, youth, idealism, love, freshness.
Rang De Basanti
Bunty aur Bablee
Namesake
And Vikram Seth’s ‘Suitable Boy’

What more can one say about this movie?
I am not saying it is a work of art or that a genius has made it. Or that it is extraordinary.

No….not at all.
The movie is ordinary.Seemingly ordinary characters going about their lives.Simple lessons in each frame. Simple living captured by Rakesh Mehra.

It’s been ages since I heard a conversation in a movie that was so simple and so normal. So ordinary.

The movie is ordinary and that is its beauty.That is where its strength lies.
The movie tells it like it is.
How many of us have not seen some of those things happening around us?
Or is it that we would rather escape with our daily dose of ‘Bollywood (I dislike that term) masala? One more ‘groovy’ song. One more ‘Dostana’. Or one more inane movie made with a budget that runs in crores and teaches zilch.

Cinema is the biggest ,most widespread medium. Why not use it to talk to people ? To educate them? To help them realize some things? As it is, very few directors are doing it. Why not give some encouragement to ROM?

If you think that it lags/drags in the second half or that it is too preachy or that Abhishek Bachchan is no great shakes or that Big B has made yet another unwanted appearance…well I would say you are right. Infact must be right. :)

But you see I am biased :)
When I saw the movie, I saw Dilli and its people. The ordinary folks who live side by side in narrow lanes with lack of bijli and paani.
Ordinary folks who step out of their homes to walk those twenty steps to their shops.
The bazaars that are full of raunak.
This is what Dilli is like.

I can vouch for it.

There are no fake emotions in Dilli6. No one goes over the top.No one hams.No one wears designer wear and thinks 24X7 about romancing someone. Or about how things are so bad in India. Or about going and bashing up a goonda single handedly. Or about a shaadi around which the whole movie revolves. Or about an India where ‘normal’ people have private helipads.

There are no ‘heroes’ and ‘heroines’ in this movie.
There are characters however.
Each one plays a part ever so subtly and so darn convincingly.
Jalebi played by Divya Dutta ,a woman who is treated as an untouchable because she is a jamaadaarni.
Gobar,played by Atul Kulkarni,the idiot,one who supposedly has no brains and yet has more heart than any of them.
The ‘Fakir’.
The ‘ Gopal’ brothers.:)) I can only remember Madan Gopal’s name right now.:)
Roshan (Abhishek Bachchan)the NRI kid who returns to Chandni Chowk with his Daadi Annapurna,played by Waheeda Rehman. The one who says ‘jahaan ki mitti hai,wahin mil jaaye toh theek hai”

Roshan is a stranger to the ways of India, indeed to the chaos of Old Delhi itslef.And yet he fits in. Almost effortlessly.

There are so many characters.And they all are able to hold their own.And quite beautifully at that.

So well… I can’t say go and watch the movie.I am sure most of you have seen it :)
But I would say this. Thats sometimes some movies are meant to be watched from the heart.
Not from a perspective that seeks to look at each and every camera angle and every nuance like it’s a life and death situation.

That said, :) let me also say that I am very biased in my movie reviews (IF you can call them reviews :D )
I will never be able to write a professional review, so please read and decide according to your own judgement:))

Umm… also imagine if this had been an ode to Calcutta/Kolkata..:)(I love Calcutta more than Kolkata)….there would have been nostalgia and long sighs na? (Quirky Indian’s post reminded me of it:))So it is with us too, here in Dilli.

hmm …that was about the movie:)
What about Delhi?

More on that later:))Because the post was too long with my ode to Delhi:)
So had to edit it.:(
more later:)

Arziyaan is so soul stirring. Listen to it. How can one remain untouched by this ode to Delhi’s sufi spirit? By that majestic , mesmerising view of so many souls …all bowing their heads in supplication?

I love this song simply because it carries a touch of home and family weddings for me..:)
(genda phool btw refers to how a marigold is beautiful to look at but has no fragrance as such, the word is intended as a humorous look at in laws:))

Also I had read that Bittuu (Sonam Kapoor) is Roshan’s cousin in the movie (Abhishek Bachchan). They are not cousins and her father refers to it in merely a conciliatory/sarcastic tone as in ,”Tumhaari behen ki shaadi ho rahi hai”..Thats it.

47 Comments leave one →
  1. J P Joshi permalink
    March 13, 2009 10:15 am

    Now just for the ‘Arziyan’, I will have to watch this movie. A very passionate and well written post. Enjoyed reading your biased review of a seemingly ordinary movie with real life ordinary characters.

  2. Solilo permalink
    March 13, 2009 10:25 am

    This was not a review. This was you bearing your soul for your Dilli…our Dilli. So beautifully written with the words well woven that one falls in love with the piece without watching it. I am yet to.

    I think the songs are just masterpiece esp. Ghenda phool and Maula. So soul stirring. AR Rehman’s best till date. I have heard it so many times already. Ghenda Phool has a bit of UP in it more than Delhi.

    I agree with you. Every movie doesn’t need lead pairs or a single track story. A film could also be about a place. The main protagonist here is Delhi. People living in it were the characters and the Kala Bandar part was the evil which gulps every Indian often. There is a Kala Bandar in each of us.

    I am in love with ROM’s work. Loved Aks more than RDB. Have to catch it soon. I was disappointed with bad reviews.

  3. Ordinary Guy permalink
    March 13, 2009 12:58 pm

    :) good one Indyeah… :) now I am waiting for your post on Delhi… a city which I have never seen…. :) As the saying goes,
    “Delhi Chalo”……… :P

  4. Surbhi permalink
    March 13, 2009 1:55 pm

    I loved this movie. I knew so many characters – the halwai Mamdu, the phony baba, the jamadaarni Jalebi, the thulla Choudhary, the naughty little boys, the Gopal brothers, Baig uncle, and most strikingly the monkey-man. Your review said everything I wanted to say about the movie and its cast/crew. Thanks so much for doing this review – it was beautiful.
    The movie had so many moments that I felt I was a part of sometime in my life. I loved it when Roshan saw Delhi’s busy chauraha for the first time and said, “Awesome.” I loved it when Daadi was ill but there were a dozen people around her bed fussing over her. I loved it when Choudhary locked Roshan up and released him only when gifted some sarkari kaagaz. I loved it when the brats hid from the world to puff on that forbidden beedi. I loved it when a million people turned up everyday to watch Ramlila. I loved it when Bittu changed from demure salwaar-kameez to irreverent halter-neck-and-harem-pants en-route.
    Delhi-6 is truly Delhi, or even any other place in India for that matter. It is us – in all our uninhibited glory and raw appeal.

  5. Usha Pisharody permalink
    March 13, 2009 3:48 pm

    As JP Sir says, enjoyed reading the biased review :) Of an ordianry movie with ordinary characters. Those are the best kinds, and those are the kinds most difficult to make, for then the characters has have to be, not faked! No acting, just living roles :)

    Your heart is in here; but then that is you :) In each of your posts, in each line, that somehow I feel, you so lovingly construct, so that it conveys the maximum it possibly can in the structure of its letters, and the evocative trail it leaves, pulling us in, and following us, when we leave this space.

    Do consider collecting these, and organizing them into a sort of tribute; the P word of course. Dilli is a good place to scout :) :)

    Way to go Meg :)

  6. Bones permalink
    March 13, 2009 3:49 pm

    I haven’t seen the movie but since I’m a Dilli-wallah, I hope I do one day…I think people from Delhi liked this movie more than others…Just like my favourite sitcom ‘Seinfeld’ – New Yorkers identified with it more than Texans…Since I lived in NYC for a few yrs., I understood the people, the stories and the jokes…I think it is the same with Dilli6…

  7. Vinod_Sharma permalink
    March 13, 2009 4:27 pm

    I haven’t watched the movie…and anyone who reads this post/review will believe he has got the spirit of it. Balance is visible in the promos!

    Jokes apart, what is writing about what you have seen worth if what you say is “mechanical”? As Solilo says, your soul is there.

    The soul, the power, the honesty, the intelligence is there in all your posts. That is why your blog has made such a huge impact on so many people in so short a period of time.

    You deserve what I call the “Impact Blog” award. Now get a good design made(Chirag will kill you…die but go to him) and put it up here. Congratulations! No one else can be, or deserves to be, the first recipient of this award!

  8. Vinod_Sharma permalink
    March 13, 2009 5:54 pm

    The copy of the “Impact Blog” will read ” Teasing minds, touching hearts”.

  9. Nimmy permalink
    March 13, 2009 5:59 pm

    :)

    You alone can write like these- no formalities,no trimming of sentences..just straight from the heart… ((hugs)) I need to watch it again ,in a good mood,bcoz i need to see all those frames thru the eyes of a Dilliwali :)

  10. Rakesh permalink
    March 13, 2009 6:36 pm

    Whatever I know about you, was sure you’ll like this movie. Coz. you’re so passionate about things.

    Cinema is the biggest ,most widespread medium. Why not use it to talk to people ? To educate them? To help them realize some things? As it is, very few directors are doing it.

    Exactly what I think! He has his heart in the right place and he deserves all the accolades he gets.

  11. hitch writer permalink
    March 13, 2009 7:09 pm

    Let me use the cliche here that i hate the most !!!!

    DIDN”T I TELL YA, You will love it !!!!

    Its a fantasy with a lot of emotions ! its a soulful movie… i guess people dont like it coz the hero is beaten up or something like that… but it touches some cords !!

    rite ??

  12. Mamma mia! Me a mamma? permalink
    March 13, 2009 7:09 pm

    Beautifully written. Everything I felt about the movie, you have captured here. I ran into a lot of people who strongly disliked the movie and when they asked me what it was that I liked, I’m afaid I just couldn’t make them understand. It was a movie about people we know, feelings we feel, dreams we dream. It was a movie that had the potential to touch and move, and that is exactly what it did!

    Beaytifully written…truly!

  13. Sagarone permalink
    March 13, 2009 7:15 pm

    Beautiful review. And just in time for my visit to Delhi for the next three days with my family on our vacation! After reading this we will be looking at Delhi with a new perspective!

  14. Solilo permalink
    March 13, 2009 7:44 pm

    I second Mr. Sharma. You deserve that award and many more. :)

    While you are pestering Chirag, also ask him to make a cutipie award. I want to give you that for always being THE sweetest.

    Just kidding:):) Chirag might throw that ‘garam chai ki pyali’ on you. (The one on his header). Ha..ha..

  15. Bindu Nayar permalink
    March 13, 2009 8:38 pm

    Dilli 6 was more like an extended travellogue of Chandni chowk to me …Dilli 6 could have been a play f sorts…characters were subtle..enchanting music…AB wasnt convincing as an NRI kid..being a protagonist..he merely remained an observer..somewhere the movie remained sadly unfulfilled…ROM had noble intentions..kala bandhar lurkin inside each one of us was indeed a simple and effetcive message..:-)

  16. manju permalink
    March 13, 2009 11:05 pm

    Wow! What a review! Now I just have to see the movie. :)

    Lovely review, Indyeah, only you can write like this!

  17. Dewdrop permalink
    March 14, 2009 12:33 am

    For a start, I have my reservations for Dilli… IMHO, I think Dilliwallas are flamboyant, high-society goers and uncouth… however, its strictly what I feel, from my analysis of having interacted with Dilliwallas @ Delhi and other parts of the country.

    Coming to your blogpost, it definitely isn't a review :) but its a beautifully written piece coming from someone who is a true-blue Delhiite… I liked the move as well, the music, the cinematography… and totally agree on what u hv written – there are no heros & heroines in the movie – there are characters and a strong message.

  18. Indyeah permalink
    March 14, 2009 1:33 am

    A big thank you for everyone who has commentd)and so from the heart and so honestly..:)

    Vinod Sir thank you so much:)
    Actually words fall short here:) so I will write tomes on it:D
    Thank you so much

    Really sorry that I have been unable to reply to the comments..:(

    my comp is having problems:(

    So do excuse me for a few hours or a day or two
    *gasp* how will I survive?

    :D

    I want to be all melodramatic and go nahiinn!!!

    eh Solilo? ;)
    :D

    (((hugs)) for all my friends and a thnak you from my heart:))

    will be back with individual replies:))

  19. Ordinary Guy permalink
    March 14, 2009 1:46 am

    heyyyyyyyyyyy:)
    congrats on the “impact award”..hehehehe..:P

  20. Anrosh permalink
    March 14, 2009 3:11 am

    solio has already seconded vinod.
    so i am putting a third

    i have no clue about dilli — but through odzer’s blog — i am still getting to know –

    but someday i will get through those nukkads (is that how you call ?)

  21. Pixie permalink
    March 14, 2009 6:05 am

    Ah… I echo your thoughts about the movie :)

    I loved it! though I have never been to Delhi… i could relate to it from so many stories i have heard…

  22. prerna permalink
    March 14, 2009 3:50 pm

    A very emotional post.I won’t call it a review. You said, you had to edit it because it was long,I felt like reading it on and on. Loved it. Straight from the heart.

  23. Da Eternal Rebel permalink
    March 14, 2009 8:25 pm

    @Indyeah
    I know I will get gaalis for this, but when I went to Delhi (way back in 1995 when I was still a kid), I found the city a bit rude. Dunno why it felt like that, may be because of the language or something else, but for the next 10 years I never wanted to go there. Now when I have finally grown up, want to go there once again and see if my perception can be changed. Have so many wonderful friends in the city now, and the city which has them must be equally good :)

  24. Indyeah permalink
    March 14, 2009 8:35 pm

    :D
    back for I dont know how long ..:D
    because my comp is still not working:( but my bro has very graciously *mutters*decided to let me share his comp for a while (after some bribes):D

    JP Joshi Sir:-Arziyaan is beautiful na?:)thank you so much sir..and it is a movie worth watching if not at a movie hall then maybe when the dvd comes out, at home…its a simple movie..:)

  25. Indyeah permalink
    March 14, 2009 8:40 pm

    Solilo:-awwww…:)
    (((hugs0)
    yup!this was and is the Delhi I grew up in..and this is also the delhi I have come to know and love…:)

    yes the songs are just awesome..:)you are so right!:)
    and bang on!genda phool does have UP in it than delhi…and Chnadni Chowk too ahs little bit of UP in it.:)

    ”Every movie doesn’t need lead pairs or a single track story. A film could also be about a place. The main protagonist here is Delhi. People living in it were the characters and the Kala Bandar part was the evil which gulps every Indian often. There is a Kala Bandar in each of us.”

    need I say more?:))

    I loved aks too though I think the amm public didnt get it, it was too comlicated for them…
    but yeah he is a genius..:))

    ((hugs))

    Ajit:-dilli chalo!:Dyeah that was the slogan for some revolutionary minds at one point in history..

    and Delhi ode will be warts and all..:)
    thank you do come to delhi it is a beautiful city

  26. Indyeah permalink
    March 14, 2009 8:44 pm

    Surbhi:-”I loved this movie. I knew so many characters – the halwai Mamdu, the phony baba, the jamadaarni Jalebi, the thulla Choudhary, the naughty little boys, the Gopal brothers, Baig uncle, and most strikingly the monkey-man. Your review said everything I wanted to say about the movie and its cast/crew. Thanks so much for doing this review – it was beautiful.
    The movie had so many moments that I felt I was a part of sometime in my life. I loved it when Roshan saw Delhi’s busy chauraha for the first time and said, “Awesome.” I loved it when Daadi was ill but there were a dozen people around her bed fussing over her. I loved it when Choudhary locked Roshan up and released him only when gifted some sarkari kaagaz. I loved it when the brats hid from the world to puff on that forbidden beedi. I loved it when a million people turned up everyday to watch Ramlila. I loved it when Bittu changed from demure salwaar-kameez to irreverent halter-neck-and-harem-pants en-route.
    Delhi-6 is truly Delhi, or even any other place in India for that matter. It is us – in all our uninhibited glory and raw appeal.”

    that is so beautiful!Surbhi you have said it all so beautifully!this is an amazing review in itself..:)

    I love Delhi for precisely the same reasons..:)
    and thank you so much for sharing these words here:)

    ((hugs))

    Usha Pisharody:-*sigh* do you know your words are the most eagerly anticipated ones here?on these pages?you always make me smile..:)
    and these words too touched a chord:)

    thank you so much Usha
    ((hugs))
    come to Delhi sometime and I will show you my city:))

    time constraints so can I reply to everyone later?:((

  27. Nimmy permalink
    March 15, 2009 1:14 am

    come back soooooooon.. Kick your cpu,it works for me sometimes.. But don’t sue me in case things go more wrong …

  28. Indyeah permalink
    March 15, 2009 2:44 am

    Usha:-was in a hurry then(read that as my pesky brother was irritating me):D

    I wait for your words all the time:)
    ((hugs)))and the Meg given by Vinod Sir and used by you touches a chord:))

  29. Indyeah permalink
    March 15, 2009 2:58 am

    Bones:-:))Please do see it:0the movie is no masterpiece but it does touch a chord..:)
    and You will like it I think:)

    And I love Seinfield too:)though a lot of my friends dont..though I didnt even know of the new york coonection:)

    ” I understood the people, the stories and the jokes…I think it is the same with Dilli6…”
    yup!exactly !I think so too:)
    will mail you ina bit!my comp’s working!!
    yay!!*kisses the ground in gratitude*:D

    ((hugs)))

  30. Indyeah permalink
    March 15, 2009 3:03 am

    Vinod Sir:-I am simply overwhelmed by your appreciation and affection for a pretty klutzy girl the one who has foot in the mouth moments galore :D

    Thank you so so much Sir..words are falling short here..:)

    LOL@Chirag will kill you:D
    yeah he sure will:D

    thank you so much sir:)You know you have a special place here..now and always …it is because of your words and the encouragement that they gave (I still remember your first comment and the advice too tha has helped me so much:)) that has made me write on and on since those first initial baby steps that were so scary:))

    would be honoured to take the award and the citation that comes with it:))

  31. Indyeah permalink
    March 15, 2009 3:07 am

    Nimmy:-awww…it is a day.. no has been two days of sheer delight for me..:)reading all the words here:)
    and yours are special too:)
    (((hugs))Nimmy:)

    aww..so cute yes do watch it again:))(((hugs))and lol@kick your cpu..:D
    I changed the SMPS..and it seems to be working for now…though I have doubts about the motherbord too:(

    (((hugs))):)

    Rakesh:-aww..that is just so amzing to read..:)thank you for those words:)
    I absolutley loved your review!it was brilliant!
    and yes ROM has his heart in the right place:)gimme an ROM movie anyday:)

  32. Indyeah permalink
    March 15, 2009 3:12 am

    Dhiren:-yours was the first positive review(from a friend) that I read:))and it was your review that convinced me that I should go and watch it:)

    and yes you did say that:))
    thank you :) I did love it!

    and absolutely right!it touches a chord!:)

    Mamma mia! me a mamma?:-YOU have written it so beautifully here

    ”It was a movie about people we know, feelings we feel, dreams we dream. It was a movie that had the potential to touch and move, and that is exactly what it did!”

    yes yes and yes:)

    yes ppl have either really liked it or really disliked it..though I am not able to figure out why?

    Thank you so much for your words:)

  33. Indyeah permalink
    March 15, 2009 3:17 am

    Sagarone:-arre wah! a trip to India?:)enjoy yourself and hope you have a beautiful memorable trip:)

    thank you for the words:)
    yes Dilli is not all bad:)

    Solilo:-:)awww..
    (((hugs))thank you but you also know I am biased when it comes to my friends:))I am sweet to my friends:))

    I am taking that cute awad from you the one on your post whether you want to give it or not:D
    :P
    thank you ((hugs))what do I say?:)
    you and I have a different eqaution :)

    LOL@chirag will throw aram chai ki pyali :D
    yeah he probably will:D

    nah!he wont will you Chirag?:D

    *ducks a cuppa*

    :D

  34. Indyeah permalink
    March 15, 2009 3:21 am

    Bindu Nayar:-:))
    thats true too I suppose coz the acting by Abhishesk might not have been top class..:)

    yes it was about Chandni Chowk but it was also about the old delho#izens and also about the delhi that lives in mohallas..:)

    yeah the movie could have been even better…but I loved this too though I am pretty biased like I said:)

    the message was good na?:)

    Manju:-aww..thank you so much:))
    please do see it whenever you are able to take out time and do share as to whether you liked it:)
    thank you for such generous words:)
    ((hugs)))

  35. Indyeah permalink
    March 15, 2009 3:25 am

    Dew Drop:-”Dilliwallas are flamboyant, high-society goers and uncouth… ”
    this is sucha coincidence..these parts and the way dilliwallahs are percieved is exactly what I ahve edited and saved for a later post:)

    yeah it isnt a review is it?:D

    yeah I loved the movie too:)and the message was the bst part:)

    more on uncouth dilliwallhs in my post later:)

    ((hugs))

    Ajit:-thank you so much:))

    *shakes her head at the OGitis epidemic*

    :P

  36. Indyeah permalink
    March 15, 2009 3:29 am

    Anrosh:-aww…(((hugs)))I have to reply to that email my comps fine after what seems like ages:)

    and thank you:)))
    yes nukkads is exactly right:)

    come here sometime Anrosh:)I will show you Delhi:)

    (((hugs))
    I am glad I discovered your blog too:)

    Pixie:-thats so amazing ..:)the fact that you have never been here and yet could relate to the movie:)
    awesome I say:)

    whenever you do come here msg me and I will be there:)

    ((hugs))

    I loved the movie too:)

  37. Indyeah permalink
    March 15, 2009 3:33 am

    Prerna:-thank you so much:)
    it is such a huge compliment that you felt like reading on and on:)

    I have a tendency to ramble..:D

    *vimmuu frowns at the understatement*:D

    thank you so much Prerna:)it was emotional ..yes..:)

    Da Eternal Rebel:-arre no gaalis :)
    yeah totally understand what you are saying..like I told Dewdrop that the next post thats in the draft will be about this:)yes language does play an imp role..:)

    and do come and see if the city has changed:)

  38. Reflections permalink
    March 15, 2009 7:05 am

    U’ve written it beautifully…like u said it doesn’t have to be abt Delhi per se it cd be abt another state.

    And yeah I’m one of those few who havent watched it yet;-P.

  39. Indyeah permalink
    March 15, 2009 9:49 am

    Reflections:-:))thank you so much:)
    yeah it could have been about any state..the story was a common one..:)
    do see it and share your opinions whether you like it or not..not liking it would be fine too:D

    (hugs)

  40. Chirag permalink
    March 15, 2009 9:08 pm

    Dude, so you saw Dilli 6 hmm…
    I had seen Delhi 6 and Dev D over the last weekend. Frankly, I didn’t like the Delhi 6 for technical reasons, bad editing and bad camerawork, story was fine and simple. Just the post production work was in a hurry. So, yes, the movie and sentiments are great and I agree with them. But technically not so much.

  41. Poonam permalink
    March 16, 2009 12:40 am

    Dilli 6 was a ompilation of vignettes, a good watch definitely. But not so great film, for secind half was preachy and too much of kaala bandar. But it definitely had good heart. :)

  42. Indyeah permalink
    March 16, 2009 8:22 am

    Chirag:-yeah I didnt even notice the camera work or bad editing:D
    I have no clue
    but yes I did like it for its simplicity..and the fact that it gave a message unlike the movies one usually sees..:)

    sentiments..:)yeah:)
    technical aspect whats that?:D

    Poonam:-haalp!!I am being bombarded with anti dilli6 reviews..nahinnn!!*goes all dramatic*
    :D
    lol!
    haan I agree that the movie was lacking in a lot of respects..:D
    but like you said vignettes and a good heart:)

    (((hugs))
    love
    muah!;)

  43. amit permalink
    March 16, 2009 11:09 am

    Well, I think it was a movie which had the capability to become a classic but somehow lost it in midway.
    The screenplay was very lose.
    But yes the way it was made was unique.

  44. kanagu permalink
    March 16, 2009 11:17 pm

    Yet to watch this movie Indyeah…
    maybe this week I watch it..
    I loved the songs very much.. :)

    On reading this review I could see how much you love Delhi and for the same reason I want a film which shows the real chennai.. so that I could relate and enjoy :)

    It’s not a review.. it’s beyond that.. great post Indyeah!!!

  45. Indyeah permalink
    March 17, 2009 6:30 am

    Amit:-:D
    you are being so polite about the movie:D
    yeah it must have sucked technically like Chirag said (though I have no idea)and the screenplay could have been better but like you said it was unique..:)it had a heart unlike some movies we see today:)
    hai na?:)

    Kanagu:-Thanks :))yeah I liked it and maybe I am a bit biased having lived in Delhi for so long..if you ever see a movie on chennai do let me know also, I would love to watch it:)
    thank you for your words:)

  46. November 19, 2010 3:08 pm

    Shriram Bharatiya Kala Kendra enters its 51st year of the presentation of the story of ‘RAM. At the time when ‘RAM’ was first performed in 1957, there were practically no dancers in Delhi and had to be specially brought from Kolkatta and Kerala. Today it is a matter of pride that perhaps almost every school in Delhi – of which there are hundreds – have dance teachers who have performed in this production.

Trackbacks

  1. list – 4 « My attempt to write

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 128 other followers

