Skip to content

Tetris Mania

June 6, 2009

tetris

Bricks falling down

Undisputed was is Indyeah’s crown :D

Tetris is the name

A highly addictive game

Happy Birthday Tetris!!  :D
DO read the history of Tetris HERE.

Today is the day when Tetris first made its appearance  in the gaming world.
25 years later it still stands as a unique and addictive game, quite different from the rest in the gaming world.

This game from childhood  is the only one I remember clearly.

Oh!I do remember the other ones like Prince Of Persia, Pac Man , Need for Speed, Max Payne and so many more … :D
But Tetris was the addiction of a little 11 year old girl :D
Addiction to the point where I had reached all the different levels of Tetris (hail the addict champion! ) :D and was the undisputed Tetris champ in my home :D

Pacman was fun but very pointless . (which game was not? :D )

”If Pac-Man had affected us as kids, we’d all be running around in dark rooms, munching pills and listening to repetitive electronic music. ”-
British comedian Marcus Brigstocke on the controversy regarding the influence of video games on children.

pacman

While Prince Of Persia was good all that blood and gore didnt exactly appeal to me. One misstep and wham you were whacked into pieces by a blade OR fell on spikes and that was THE END.
Prince-Of-Persia

prince-of-persia-classic

Prince_of_Persia_Sands_of_Time
Err..this prince looks very different from the one I saw in the earlier games :D
*ahem* maybe I need to play this game again :D

Anyway back to Tetris which is celebrating its 25th Birthday this week :D
Here are some facts that you probably didn’t know about this game. (link) (And if you did then just humour me and pretend that you didn’t okay? :P )

1.The game was completed on June 6th 1984 by Alexander Pajitnov, a programmer at the Moscow Academy of Sciences who worked on the game in his spare time.
Pajitnov created the game on an Elektronika computer. The brand usually involved Russian technicians trying to create clones of foreign products not available in the USSR, most notably knock-offs of the Nintendo Game & Watch.

2.The name comes from a combination of tetromino (any shape consisting of four squares joined together by their edges) and tennis. Tetromino itself comes from the Greek word tetra (meaning four) and domino.

3.As well as being the game’s name, Tetris is a verb meaning the action of clearing four lines from the screen at once (which, in the standard edition of the game, is only possible with the straight line shape)

4.Though originally released on the PC, Tetris earned its biggest popularity on the Nintendo Game Boy on which it sold around 35 million copies, roughly half its overall total.

5.In a 2007 list, games site IGN called it the second best game of all time, beaten only by Super Mario Brothers.

6.Despite Nintendo acquiring the exclusive console rights to the game, Sega briefly released a version on the Mega Drive. It was quickly withdrawn after legal pressures and the few copies in existence are now valued in the thousands of dollars.

7.Unlike most games, there’s no ultimate ‘win’ or ‘completion’ in Tetris. In 1988, a science masters student wrote a thesis concluding that the random nature of the shapes which appears mean it is impossible to develop an infinite winning strategy and that it is inevitable that players will lose eventually.

8.Despite famously making little if any money from the game, Pajitnov once said (translated) “Let me tell you my opinion on free software: it should never have existed [and] today should not exist.”

9.Brain scans of Tetris players show the game trains people to use their brains more efficiently, in some cases increasing performance seven-fold from the same level of energy. (Please notice *ahem*this very important point and all Tetris fans join me in applauding this earth shattering observation :lol: )

DO WATCH the video Tetris from Russia with love HERE
(specially if you are into gaming)

The video tells one about the history behind the game of Tetris quite nicely.
OR
you can watch it on YOU TUBE in parts 1st PART

And now go and play a game of Tetris..
Come on..go..
IF only for the sake of sentimentality.
How many years has it been since you did? :)

PS:- oh!and also I love Need for Speed …. so no need to rack your brains on my birthday …..just gift me the latest edition of NFS :D

83 Comments leave one →
  1. June 6, 2009 1:28 pm

    actually had to write something before I read… wonder why ??

    me- :lol:
    this is why I published it now :D
    so that you can be first ;)
    wonder why?err..your hands are itching to write and come first..all thats required is a cry of yayy!!me first! :D

    • June 6, 2009 2:40 pm

      I dont try… but land up !! amazingly ! :D

      me- *ahem*yeah right! :D

    • June 6, 2009 3:41 pm

      I do wonder if wp will come up with something where in we can turn the other person’s comment into a reply , i.e. put mine before yours :P

      me-what an idea Vishesh :D

      • June 6, 2009 3:57 pm

        he he he…. vishesh is that the only solution to remove me from top ?????????????

        bhagoooooooooooooooo

        me- looks like it for sure :D

        • June 6, 2009 7:40 pm

          Somehow, now this appears to be more and more rigged!!!

          (Angur khatte hain)
          me-
          rigged?what rigged? :roll:

          :mrgreen:

      • June 6, 2009 7:38 pm

        Yeah then Dhiren will be the first to comment on all his own posts.

        me- :lol: so true!

        • June 6, 2009 9:47 pm

          What rigged ???

          I came first on Indyeah’s post… and Solilo’s too would you believe it and it involves a lot of hardwork, perseverance, persistance and a lot of sweat !!!!

          absolutely Angoor Khatte hai !! :P

          me- *ahem* @ it involves a lot of hardwork, perseverance, persistance and a lot of sweat !!!!
          *ahem* *ahem*
          *cough*

  2. June 6, 2009 1:33 pm

    Were you actually a Video Game buff ??? my youngest brother is the craziest of them all !!!
    me- yep!complete one..used to be addicted to them when I was a kid
    ..not now though..now I play once in a while :D

    Though never been a big fan of Tetris.. I have played it many a times…
    me- haw! :P
    Tetris appeals to very few *ahem* intellectual people :P

    You know we have spent hours playing Prince of Persia as three brothers we would fight all the time to play… then Mario !!! we finished all levels knew where what was coming everything by heart… !!!

    me- knew by heart?then toh complete videogame buffs! :D
    I spent hours playing prince of persia too :D
    and used cheat codes as well ;)

    Star Force, Base Ball, BOmber man, B-Wings, Contra… !!! lol like the books tag this is another one…
    me- :D carry on carry on..it is such fun to read!

    even today when my wife is not home I m hooked to Heroes Armageddon !!!
    me- :lol:
    Dhiren no wonder you are such a kid! :P
    thats cute though

    I have all sorts of large maps downloaded and play… making my kingdom and raiding the enemy forts… !!!

    I can still play it for hours at a stretch… even recently we wanted to gift Hriday with video games but my wife and my bro’s wife threatened divorce… so we stayed back….
    me- :lol:
    Divorce? :D
    no wonder if you play it for hours :D
    Keep Hriday away from them :P

    lil kiddies bigad jaayenge

    The latest Nintendo V is amazing…. !!! just check it out !!!

    me- which one is it?I have no clue..younger bro would know better :D

  3. June 6, 2009 1:53 pm

    Nintendo WII is the latest in gaming if something even more latest has not come..

    you can wear things and play virtual tennis with Agassi !! or Federer… or Box with Mike Tyson !!! aint that sounding great… just played for 2 – 3 minutes at my boss’ house… and actually wanted to steal the thing !!!! its awesome… !

    me-that does sound awesome!!
    I have to check this put ASAP!

    thanks Dhiren :D
    PS:-your boss must be like you too then :D

  4. June 6, 2009 1:55 pm

    http://www.nintendo.com/wii/what

    me-thanks!:)
    this link is so cool!I am checking out all the stuff right now!

  5. Solilo permalink
    June 6, 2009 2:17 pm

    Abhi, I laughed out loud seeing this. Why you know? I was writing a post on the same. :lol:
    me-OMG!!Dont tell me!!
    you too are a Tetris fan?

    ((((((((((((((hugs))))))))))))))))))
    its been ages since I met another fan :D :D

    • June 6, 2009 2:41 pm

      care to explain why Solilo’s name doesnt have a link to her blog here ?

      me- I have no clue..I was wondering too

      • Solilo permalink
        June 6, 2009 3:16 pm

        I accessed it from readomattic so it shows logged in.
        me-oh!no wonder then..

    • June 7, 2009 1:58 am

      Indi!!!!

      yeh hugs mujhe bhi de do thakoor!!!!

      reason? woh to later mil jayega!
      show me the hugs first!!!

      me- okie dokie
      (((((((((((((((((((((((((hugs))))))))))))))))))
      *Indyeah looks at Crafty in expectation*
      now temme :D

      :P :D :D

  6. Solilo permalink
    June 6, 2009 2:19 pm

    I can understand your dedication because another Tetris fanatic here.
    me-this is just so damn uncanny and awesome SOlilo!!!
    OMG is the first reaction specially since noone I know likes Tetris :D

    out with your post gurl:)
    waiting for it:)

  7. June 6, 2009 2:39 pm

    I also played a lot of tetris and more than that, i played Pacman. It was an addiction. All through my summer holidays, i used to sit and play Pacman. i loved it. Prince of persia is another of my favorite. Whenever i get bored i still play the mobile games which are a bit similar to tetris. :)
    me- yes the mobile games are rather similar to tetris..
    pacman and POP were fav too :D

  8. June 6, 2009 2:44 pm

    My reader is showing 8 minutes ago but the comments making me to think like hours ago… LOL… :lol: Thought I am going to be the first commenter :)

    but dhiren bhai won again :)

    me- LOL@8 minutes:D
    you have the fever too :D

    yep!DHiren is too quick! :D

    • June 6, 2009 3:18 pm

      tsk tsk…. :mrgreen:

      • June 7, 2009 2:03 am

        so seems to be no need to nominate successors to the legend of comment race champion, eh????

        *scratchy scratches head about the retirement bit*

        seemed so real, and yet, here’s hitchy, in all flesh n blood, mocking!!!

        dust throwing in eyes of public….
        :D :D

        me-ROFL!!!
        Dhiren ruined the whole masterplan eh?

        you are CUTE :D Crafty :D

        • June 9, 2009 1:19 am

          when i come here on my favourite blog and see no comments… what do i do scratchy ??? you say !! :(

          me- what??
          what comments?
          didnt get it :(

          • June 9, 2009 2:14 pm

            aiyo ! buddhu !

            meaning i come to this blog and see a new post and no comments.. how can i help myself or my retirement programs ?? you say…

            samjhi beta !!???
            me-samajh gayi :D

  9. June 6, 2009 2:49 pm

    Me too love tetris much.. but I am not a game addict :) because rarely I win so I better avoid playing games… NFS is a very good game… great graphics but didn’t went beyond blacklist 8.. have to install it again and play it.. :)

    and I love cricket in game too :)

    me- yay!you love it too :D
    good for you if you are not an addict! :)

    I win rarely too at other games.:D but Tetris?I am a champ in that :D

    NFS is superb!! Cricket is good too though doesnt have the real life charm na? thogh since you love cricket so much no wonder you enjoy it :D

  10. June 6, 2009 3:01 pm

    Wow that was quite an info…have to admit I am a complete misfit in the video games arena!I dont knw a thing:(..but thanks,Abhi for this trivia.will chk the links and try playing a game or two.

    me- arre!dont worry about being a misfit!
    you are the only sane one :D
    do check the link Pixie has given and play :D

  11. monikamanchanda permalink
    June 6, 2009 3:27 pm

    oh i loved loved this game a huge fan me is
    :D

    me-another fan? :D
    cool! so many of us :D

  12. June 6, 2009 3:42 pm

    oh I am too lazy , i get bored :P so never played much of this actually ;)

    me- :D
    only lazy people(read that as couch potatoes )play this game :D

  13. June 6, 2009 4:07 pm

    Abhi, My husband will be on the top of the world after seeing this!!! He is such a hugs fan! And of NFS too!!

    All that he ever wants for birtdays is games :) Will get him to read it:)

    I am on the other hand -totally non games – unless you count scrabble :) Thats the only game I play online :(

    me- he is a gaming buff?
    that is so awesome! :D

    NFS ?everyone (specially guys I have seen)loves the game :D
    scrabble IS a game :)
    I love that too :)
    you are fine re! you are the sane one like Deeps ;) ((hugs)))

  14. June 6, 2009 4:17 pm

    I am a big fan of this game :)
    me- welcome here NEha :)
    nice to know that you too like the game :)

  15. June 6, 2009 4:51 pm

    I was a pure game buff till my degree days. Used to play all those macho games. Never liked tetris and I used to play them only when I dont have anything else to do :D
    me- macho games? :P :P
    tetris is a brainy game..needs your mind unlike the others where only fighting/killing is required :P

    We (my bro) had ATARI , then Nintendo, and then Sega Mega Drive. Thanks for reminding, I need to get my Sega back from home. My bro currently has a X-box and we played while I was with him in Swiss. Boyy, we went into a time machine to our childhood. I so miss those days !!! :(
    me-Atari?
    my bro used to play that :)

    so many games!!you WERE a game buff!

    Xbox? thats cool!

    I miss childhood too :)
    well will never let childhood get away now :D
    there’s still time to live it up :D

    • June 7, 2009 12:07 am

      Tetris, according to surveys, is actually a brain developing game. LOL. For those who doesnt have brains or for those who hadnt yet used their brains !!!! HAHAHAHAHAHAHAHA !!!
      me- :P :P :P :P :P

      *and after that supremely mature response Indyeah walks away regally*

  16. June 6, 2009 5:14 pm

    Thanks for calling me 11 year old :P. I have one game atleast before I go to bed. I still have that hand held brick games console. ( may be antique now ) :D

    me- lol@11 year old kid :D

    handheld console?gosh!its been ages since I saw that :)
    yep!you ARE a kid then :D

  17. June 6, 2009 5:27 pm

    OMG!!! Are you really a Tetris fan?
    How weird is the coincidence!!
    I play it on my husband’s mobile all the time and on a website – http://www.tetrisfriends.com/games/Marathon/game.php

    I’m a huge fan!! :D :D

    me- Pixie!!!thank YOU!!!
    you know why i am so late in replying to comments?
    coz I was too busy playing a game on that link you gave!
    (((hugs))muah!
    thank you for that link! :D
    and yep!!this is so amazing!!what fans one is discovering here..all tetris fans!:D

    • June 7, 2009 9:45 am

      Thanks from moi too for the link! :D Woohoo

      me- woohoo it is! I have been doing the same Pixie and Shail! :D been playing ever since you gave the link :D

  18. June 6, 2009 6:00 pm

    This is one of those times when all I can do is give a blank look and keep my mouth shut. Believe me, this is the first time that I have heard of Tetris. May be because I have simply no inclination whatsoever towards any of these games that are such a rage with a lot of people, particularly kids, who carry their fondness into adulthood too, for very good reasons I am sure. Lest someone think that I am sounding a bit condescending, let me say that even chess does not enthuse me. In fact, the few times that I played it long back, I was bored and tired. Make sense of that!

    me- generation gap :D
    May be because I have simply no inclination whatsoever towards any of these games that are such a rage with a lot of people, particularly kids, who carry their fondness into adulthood too, for very good reasons I am sure.
    thats perfectly fine Sir :)
    err I would be one of those ‘kids’ :D

    chess does not enthuse you ?
    somehow I had you pegged as a chess type :D
    you know all intellectual and debating all the moves :)

    I think its more to do with our childhood memories than anything else.. :)
    we all probably love the games/people/places which we remember from our childhood or associate childhood with :)

  19. Saritha permalink
    June 6, 2009 6:28 pm

    So many tetris fan.I love this game and i have in my mobile as well.When everyone are sleeping i will be playing this on my mobile :) :)
    My daughter also wants to play mobile games when she sees me playing it,i have few games for her as well in my mobile :)
    me-yay!anotehr tetris fan! :D its a week for discovering tetris fans it seems :)
    your daughter also plays them? thats cute :)

    Sob sob i never played this more than 10minutes of pacman,how fast i do but not able to save myself.
    me- lol!! :D me too Saritha!

    Believe me i used to play a lot of computer games before i started blogging,i used to put the kids to sleep in the afternoon and play games in pogo,ejunior and other sites.
    me- :D that is cute

    When i was pregnant i used to play The Mummy game,one day my mom saw me playing that and when she saw the screen, blood was there and she shouted at me not to play such games.But i used to play and when ever she comes near me i used to change the screen(ALT TAB ):) :)

    me- lol!!
    that is so cute :D and aunty was also justified in saying it I suppose..I have seen some of my cousins being scolded too :D
    Saritha you are one certified gaming freak then! :D
    ((hugs))

    • June 6, 2009 8:21 pm

      Saritha I think all bloggers were addicted to the internet/computer first :)

      me- that is so true IHM!
      I just realized it after I read your comemnt :)
      most of us if not all def have been comp/net addicts

  20. nitwitnastik permalink
    June 6, 2009 7:17 pm

    Thanks for the very informative article Indyeah. Yes, I remember being an addict to tetris too (although frankly I didn’t play it before gratuating from college which was way behind the curve :-) ) in addition to super mario bros and another game named ‘xatax’ (I am not sure if you have heard of it). It has been quite a few years since and this post brought back memories of those times. Nice one.
    me- you are most welcome :)
    you too? :D
    havent heard of xatax :)
    cool to hear that there are so many gaming fans here :) specially that you too are a tetris fan :D

  21. June 6, 2009 7:40 pm

    I have played the first Prince of Persia and was scared of becoming addicted, so stopped.

    me- same here IHM!
    I used to play the first edition and then got so hooked….(used to close my eyes when he was bout to be killed :D )

    • Saritha permalink
      June 7, 2009 9:25 am

      I never played prince of persia,but now i will download the game and play it :)

      me- do try it Saritha :) I am sure you will like it :)

  22. June 6, 2009 7:49 pm

    Ok, a confession!

    I missed my 10th standard Typing exam because I was sitting in a game parlour playing video games. I then, made up a story in front of my mom saying few guys snatched away my cycle. I had actually left the cycle some place far away and then I took my brother for a cycle search to that area and we found it :)

    me-
    What???? :lol:
    and aunty believed your story? :D knowing you ? :D
    you were a little devil then :P what imagination you had as a kid ! :D

    This game parlour I went to, I had to pay him almost 80 rupees (1 rupee for 10 mins) and I had no idea where to get the money from… Brother came to rescue later.
    me- wah!! aise hi kaamon ke liye bhai kaam aate hain :D

    More recently, we bought a Play Station at home which was supposed to be sent to India in few days. Those few days, I did nothing else at home except PS. My wife will now, never let me buy a PS (Maybe Yuvaan will convince her when he grows up)
    me- Playstation? :D
    its a wonder you are able to blog then :D
    coz PS is addictive :D

    your wife is smart (like I always believed ) this just confirms it more :D
    Itll be a long long time before Yuvaan grows up and convinces her :D

    Phew at this post and the responses above! I thought, I was the only one…

    Tetris is also an amazing addiction but after a while (2 to 3 weeks) it gets boring…

    me- yeah seems like everyone is a gaming freak :D
    true!Tetris cannot be played for a long stretch :)

  23. June 6, 2009 8:32 pm

    err..this prince looks very different from the one I saw in the earlier games :D
    *ahem* maybe I need to play this game again

    :lol: :lol: :lol: :lol: :lol: :lol: :lol: :lol: :lol: :lol:

    me- :D ;)

  24. June 6, 2009 9:00 pm

    Abhi – Tag done :)
    http://wordsndreamz.wordpress.com/2009/06/06/wish-list-for-the-next-birth/
    me-I hopped over and read :D
    what absolute fun!

  25. June 6, 2009 9:08 pm

    hmm… I remembered my school days…

    pacman, prince of persia, space shooter…

    and then I would write on MSDOS prompt: CD RACES…

    so many tracks to choose from and the race would begin…

    never mind the 2d graphics… the games made me leap… though I was never a good player… but still loved it!!!

    thanks for bringing back good old memories..

    today’s hi-fi 3-d games catch our imagination.. true.. but probably the old 2d games gave me much much more entertainment.. [sigh]

    me- :D I am grinning after reading all the names of the games you loved :)
    I too loved them :)
    you are most welcome :)
    nostalgia anytime is a most welcome emotion(or so I feel)

    today’s hi-fi 3-d games catch our imagination.. true.. but probably the old 2d games gave me much much more entertainment.. [sigh]
    so so true….I agree

  26. June 6, 2009 9:32 pm

    I was a tetris addict for sometime. I used to play for hours together in the afternoon. Then ‘free cell’. I was playing them numberwise – write down the number and do next. If I was not able to do it, I used to write down the game number and ask my husband or son to solve!

    Scrabble and other word games also were my favorites. Don’t know about the other games you have mentioned.

    All the time I keep admiring you people for selecting interesting topics!
    me- yay!!another Tetris addict :D
    join the gang :D
    arre yes!freecell ! how could I forget? :)
    If I was not able to do it, I used to write down the game number and ask my husband or son to solve!
    true blue game lover then :)

    scrabble is a pretty interesting game na?
    I like it too :)
    thanks :) I love your posts too
    they are a treasure trove of information and the way you think about things:)
    (((((hugs)))))))

  27. June 6, 2009 11:06 pm

    Me a Tetris addict too! I would actually fight my younger bro for his Nintendo just so that I could spend many a happy hour watching those spaces fill up and hearing those congratulatory tings and pings emanate from the game box!

    Sigh! The joys!
    me- :D I cant believe the sheer number of Tetris fans here :)
    yippe!:)
    I could spend many a happy hour watching those spaces fill up and hearing those congratulatory tings and pings emanate from the game box
    LOL!! me too ! :D

  28. June 6, 2009 11:38 pm

    Hey,

    You a gaming buff!!! Kewl!!! I am an absolute gaming freak!! When I was kid, I used to participate in gaming contests..thats how I got home one black & white TV by winning one of the contest yeeeaaarrrrssss back!!!

    Recently, I met my best buddy..PS3..its awesome..no..its more than awesome :)

    Even I liked tetris a lot…everytime there was a hope to make the next best score :)

    Happy gaming!!!

    me- you won a tv?you actually won something out of your addiction err love? :D

    cool! :)
    PS3 ?reminds me of RAkesh and his addiction :D
    yep!Tetris was addictive simply coz it was easy to score :D

    happy gaming to you too!:)

    • June 8, 2009 12:26 pm

      Well..those days were crazy!! How I use to dodge my tuition classes and my father-sent guy use to catch hold of me everytime at the video-game parlor!!

      And yeah..I actually won.

      **yay!!!**

      PS 3 is so damn addictive!! And I recently bought “The Prince of Persia”. Its simply incredible. You got to play it to blve it!! :)

      By the way I still have that hand-held black color Brick Game (999 games in one…the one liner on almost every hand-held Brick Game!! :) )

      But at the same time, I have never found a tetris addict as you!! I mean someone who can write about it..do research..wish happy birthday!!
      Amazing you and hats off to Indyeah!! Smile smile!! :) :D
      me- thanks :D
      I used to be an addict and probably am still :)
      you too seem like a gaming fan so cheers to you too :)

      • June 8, 2009 12:28 pm

        Sorry!! Added one “i” extra…seems like I was too excited :)

        *indyeah*

  29. June 7, 2009 12:18 am

    LOL…… you had to do a proper research of the game for this post….
    I am sure that the inventor of this game will not know as much as you now :P heheheheheheheheheheheheheh
    me- :P :P
    yeah you are right :D
    maybe the researcher does know less :D :P

    seriously, I dont like this game!!! “Indyeah looks shocked*
    me- nah!not shocked :D
    coz only brainy *Ahem* and intellectual people Can play this game :P :P

    seriously, when I was a kid, It used to be prince of persia….. all the time, followed by Street fighter….. :D then interested turned towards “Mortal Kombat” but had to stop playing it because dad told me that he would not buy anymore keyboards…… :P yeah I used to destroy the keyboard playing that game…….. :P

    Now, I am big fan of “age of empires” I, II, III, IV, V all of them….. I used to miss sleep, college everything playing it in college :P

    me-POP was a fav of mine :)
    street fighter?cant remember that ..
    and I dont believe this..Mortal Kombat and age of empires..sheesh!my bro is addicted to them specially age of empires..I can never quite figure out the charm in that :P


    but had to stop playing it because dad told me that he would not buy anymore keyboards…… :P yeah I used to destroy the keyboard playing that game…….. :P

    LOL!! :D I can soo imagine that! :D :P

    • June 7, 2009 9:12 am

      Thats what even I said–Macho games !!! and she kept referring to some part of the human body :D

      me- :P :P
      it sounds fishy when you say it :P :D

    • June 8, 2009 11:51 am

      age is empires is the greatest game on the planet…..

      imagine spending about 5-6 hours planning and killing your opponents :P :P :P there is nothing better than that :P :P

      me- *sigh*
      *double sigh*
      *Indy wonders why she even bothers asking the question *

      Lord please forgive OG for not appreciating the wonder that is Tetris
      :D

      :D

      AGe of Empires?
      I will play that when you play Tetris and beat me! :P :P :P

      • June 8, 2009 12:09 pm

        OG have you played Heroes Armageddon ??? its awesome dude !!! planning, building a kingdom and attacking and capturing forts !!!

  30. June 7, 2009 2:21 am

    finally! after reading and butting into other’s comments, am here to give my own!
    me- LOL!!okay Sistah!
    I am so loving this long comment :D

    Tetris??? TETRIS?????? *crafty faints with excess blood rush*
    “Love” is like a piddly emotion!!!!
    when was the last time i played it???? two nights ago, at around 2am!!!
    me got a hand-held wala tetris game, from an amusement park. china made stuff….got it 4 yrs back….in spite of constant reminders from family that I was 21 and not 12….
    me- you too?:D thats what the hugs were for then? :D
    (((Hugs))again :D

    two nights ago?
    okay certified true blue KR sistah! :D

    honest!!I too played it last night and am playing it now :D

    you have a handheld one? :(
    I have to rely on the comp :..so cant play it anywhere else..(mom sighs in relief) :D
    21 not 12?
    *Indy counting the age* :mrgreen:

    muah! :D

    every person i have known who has a tetris game on their cell phone that i know of, has my name….against top score!!!
    a friend told me that his girlfriend got upset coz her name was 1st, and then i made an unreachable score n she was pissed about my name before hers (i became the “other girl”) :( :(
    so i beat my own score 5 times n add his name….women, i tell u….
    me- ROFL!!!
    what a thing to write Crafty! :Absolutely cute! :D
    now toh you are the champ!
    lets play together when we meet :D
    err matlab no competition..not woth a KR sistah but cheating err sportsmanship chalega na? :D

    back to topic…
    thank u for all this info, i wudn’t even have thot to check it out ever. and completed in 1984??? really??? year i was born!!! :D :D

    me- *Indyeah wonders why she ever bothered to even count * :D

    i have played so much tetris indi, i can align, toggle, move left / right in my dreams….i can play tetris in my mind!! :D :D
    me- NOW THAT I believe :D

    me not a games fan otherwise and have not even seen what these others games are! but that prince i tell u….call me when u play that eh? ;)
    me- LOL@prince
    yeah thats the idea :D

    for want of a better song Indyeah, let me just modify and make do with whatever’s available! pliss to sing along….

    phoolon ka taaron ka, sabka kehna hai….Indyeah Crafty ki judwaa behena hai…saari umaar unko tetris khelna hai….!

    *crafty exits, still singing*

    me- :lol:

    *Indyeah singing right along * :D

    • June 8, 2009 5:02 pm

      @crafty- aiyyo rama!! when did u turn into indyeah, crafty>?? look at the length of that comment!!!!*looks all shocked*
      me- :lol:

      check out Crafty’s earlier comments and you will know why the crown has been handed over to her ;)
      she is a darling isnt she? :D

  31. June 7, 2009 2:26 am

    oh no, everytime i submit comment and see the length, the words “comment monster crown” floats before my eyes!!! :|

    no no no no …how many times Indyeah????? no crown!!! no!!!!
    me- ROFL!!
    okie how about the cuteness crown then?
    yes??
    okay! :D
    *places it on Crafty’s head*

    wait, let me solve this dilemma forever….i hand u the “gets me chatty” crown! there…its all ur doin, these long comments i post….u make me say a lot lot more than i think i cud!

    hee! :D
    me- and crown taken gleefully!!!
    *Indy places it on her own head*
    talk about over enthusiasm :D

    muah:)
    (((hugs))
    coz you are too cute for words :D

  32. June 7, 2009 3:48 am

    Whoa!! I still play tetris.. minesweeper n freecell on the side… ;) ;)

    When I was a kid my fav was digger :D :D pacman was good.. but digger it was! And i forgot the name of the game.. dunno if you remember? umm where this guy has to collect diamonds and such… enter many doors and jump over fires etc ??

    me- See?Winnie I knew you would be with me on this one! :D

    (((Hugs))darl :D
    minesweeper and freecell..
    more gems! :D
    digger?cant remember..:) but yeah I soo remember the diamond wala game..cant remember the name though :)

  33. June 7, 2009 5:37 am

    cudn’t find a name for age of empires …

    best of all ,, ofcourse after tetris only .. there was a clear distinction between ppl who play tetris and who don’t during our engg days.. non-tetris ppl used to get rank in exams. .. but after so many years i am gald that tetris ppl from my class have done equally well than non-tetris ppl ..

    it simply means playing tetris had the same effect as reading the stuff tht prof wants u to read .. :)

    me- that means that there was tetris mania in your college then :D

    it simply means playing tetris had the same effect as reading the stuff tht prof wants u to read
    heh!heh!so its confirmed! People who play tetris are brainy :D

  34. June 7, 2009 9:44 am

    OMG Indyeah! You a tetris fan too?? Moi is one too!!! Oh yeah. I remember the hours and hours spent playing the game, probably the same time, when you were 11 and I had been….. never mind how old I had been!! ;) :P Lol. I sent my children of to school and settled down to play Tetris. It is indeed a unique one. BTW I have also tried Pacman and a few others. But those as you called ‘pointless’ games never held my interest long. Now tetris is a different game altogether!!

    me- you too?

    and the gang grows bigger!!! :D

    lol@never mind how old..
    ((HUgs))coZ you are cute :D
    sent your children to school and settled down to play Tetris?
    now that is serious love! :D

    Now tetris is a different game altogether!!
    absolutely!!I agree! :D

  35. June 7, 2009 10:09 am

    Tetris champ, eh ? Do you play any new games ? Apart from NFS , which rocks . You know , Prince of Persia 2 , Couner Strike , Warcraft , Call of Duty etc. etc. ?
    me- new games? only when bro dearest threatens me :D
    NFS rocks for sure! :)
    warcraft and Age of empires and all those that you have mentioned he LOVES to play :D
    I love only Tetris and Prince of PErsia :)
    the otehrs I have played once or twice but not more :)

  36. June 7, 2009 3:09 pm

    one more Tetris fan here…

    me-yiippee yoo! :D
    i remember i had one of those small handy videogames that u mostly see with kids in trains… i was such an addict at a time that i used to dream about it.. even while sitting idle my mind would be playing it..

    finally after months of not playing i came out of that phase..

    i miss that. :D
    me- you came OUT of that phase?
    kyun??kyun? :D
    go back now! :D :P

    i had one of those small handy videogames that u mostly see with kids in trains..
    what an example :D
    come back to the Tetris gang gurl! :D

  37. June 7, 2009 5:01 pm

    I was more of a pacman fan. :) I played Tetris as a kid but later lost interest.
    And Prince of Persia has completely changes after playstations came. You won’t believe the graphics. They are awesome.
    me- Pacman fan? :D
    you are one of the few ones I know :)
    POP ?yeah my bro keeps saying that

    I have to play POP now if only coz of the prince ;)

  38. June 7, 2009 7:29 pm

    I used to play this in my mobile… And in the video games that I played, I loved Mario and Contra. There is one more game (the name I forgot!) where you shoot a ball, it keeps bouncing around the place automatically increasing the points and if it comes down only you need to press a key to bring it back (two slides would move up and down to hit the ball). Do you know the name of this game? I want to download this for a long time, but forgot the name! I liked that one the most!!

    Destination Infinity

    me- you too? :D
    so many gaming fans here :)
    I have been trying to remember the name of the game too :) but have been unable to..hopefully someone will come up with the name :)
    will def try and see if I can remember it or maybe someone else might.. :)

    • June 8, 2009 1:08 pm

      oh its Pinball.. i love that too..

      when videogame was just introduced at our home me and bro used to play Battle city and Supermario but i loved Pinball and he found that a bore.. so i used to use Pinball as a bribe from my bro so that i would play Battle city with him.. if he let me play pinball then only i would play with him and Battle city did need 2 players to make it more fun.. :-)
      me- pinball? :D
      I had completely forgotten the name thanks for reminding :)
      supermario was cool na? :D
      battle city I cant remember somehow..
      LOL@the give and take formula :D
      this reminded me of my two bros :D

  39. June 7, 2009 11:40 pm

    Do you still want to play Tetris??

    or mobile Tetris ..thats awesome fun ..
    me- :D Tetris ?anytime!!
    Pixie gave a link so have been playing games there :)

    • June 8, 2009 9:56 pm

      played after really a long time on that site .. my scores .. surely i have slowed down since my college days

      High Score 87256
      Level 8
      Lines Cleared 112
      Time 20:43.05
      Lines Per Minute 5.40
      Tetriminos Locked Down 316
      Tetriminos Per Minute 15.25
      Singles 32
      Doubles 25
      Triples 6
      Tetrises 3
      Max Combo 1

      me-AWESOME is the word for the sheer statistics that you have shared, thus confirming your love for Tetris :D
      hail the Tetris fan! :D

  40. June 8, 2009 12:55 am

    Sounds like a brain-teaser of a game. Although I am a dud at gaming (and have never ever played Tetris. Or Pacman, or…)

    me- aww thats cute :)
    you are missing something though :)
    (psst a tetris fan trying to get you hooked * :D )

  41. June 8, 2009 1:58 am

    Tetris was my first comp game :-) I loved it but then got bored of it as its toooo slow and linear…

    And the I became the undisputed winner in All Pac Man games :)
    me- since it was your first comp game I will ignore the ‘too slow and linear’ line :D :P

    yeah it is all that though *said very grudgingly* :P
    all pacman games? :D
    chalo a gaming addict na? :D so alls forgiven! :P

  42. Pal permalink
    June 8, 2009 10:13 am

    OMG, and I was just talking to hubby about the great Prince of Persia!! And I used to love the ‘bricks game’…never knew it was called Tetris until now :-)

    me- you too PAl? :D
    POP is a good game :) and yeah bricks wali game is Tetris :)

  43. June 8, 2009 3:15 pm

    LoL! I use to play Tetris as a kid and was addicted. Still am addicted to video games. We’ve got nintendo advance, PS2 (playstation 2), PSP (playstation portable), PS3, , a Nintendo DS and I got my sister a nintendo WII yesterday. :-D So we’re all addicted to video games. ;-)
    My dad is addicted to pc games. So it’s crazy in my household. Mum get really angry with us. ;-)
    me- still addicted? :D
    OMG!!SO MANY games? you are definitely addicted! :D
    your dad too?:D thats cute :)
    your mom’s justified in getting irritated :D

  44. June 8, 2009 4:59 pm

    you have NOO idea how addicted to tetris i was during my PG.. we had this boring statistics and research methodology class in which i spent the entire sem sitting behind some tall and broad person playing tetris. used to have to beg a friend to get her to lend me her mob cause she had the game on that.. played till my thumbs ached!! did pretty good at the game and pretty bad at the subject!!lol..
    played mario as a kin…looong back…havent played it in ages…havent played tetris either..not since i graduated..
    me- :lol:
    *certified true blue Tetris fan*
    tan tanan!
    Presenting Mandira ladies and gentlemen!! :D
    what a description Amndy!you convinced me! totally! :D
    go and play Tetris now gurl look at the link Pixie has given :D

  45. Solilo permalink
    June 8, 2009 10:28 pm

    You are feeling ‘creative’ (mood meter). Whatcha doing now Abhi? ;)
    me- nothing much :D
    creative work going on at work :D

  46. June 9, 2009 1:50 am

    I was wondering what this ‘tetris’ thing is and now I know! It was on the google website the day before. Personally, have never been a fan of video games and the like. Not even now..Heyy great to be reading you again! :):)

    me-welcome back Piper!((((((((((((((((((hugs))))))))))))))
    its so good to see you back again :)

  47. June 9, 2009 9:20 am

    pacman – Oh boy!!! getting our names on the booking register of the club (we stayed in B.E.L Colony, with excellent club facilities..), spending that one hour of pure bliss, eating those tiny dots, escaping the monster..
    Ohh…. my first tryst with computers!!
    me- you too? :D
    cool! join the gaming club :D
    pacman eh?Thats cute :)

  48. June 9, 2009 11:08 am

    I loved loved loved tetris with a vengeance and thought of myself as a champion of sorts.

    The boy thinks the same about himself. Needless to say, a match is due :)

    me- another Tetris fan :D
    this is awesome!one is discovering so many tetris fans :)
    hello Tetris champ! :D
    do tell as to who wins the match :D

  49. Pretty Prats permalink
    June 9, 2009 11:49 am

    Oh! i loved Tetris :D !! its still a fav wd me .. play it all time on my cell ( not exactly tetris but some other game wd same format ) ! and i was really hooked to “Prince of Persia” one summer .. :)
    me- cool!join the gang gurl! :D
    POP was cool na? I liked it too except when eh was about to be killed :(

  50. June 9, 2009 8:57 pm

    Where are you?!
    Why no new posts?! Are you ok?

    Hugs!
    me- aww thats so sweet :)
    I am right here :))
    was a bit ill :) now am better and raring to go :D
    (((hugs)))

  51. June 10, 2009 12:36 pm

    My you are a tetris fan! I loved Mario when I was small(now too, actually) but Tetris was also what my poor incapacitated brains could handle….Have never been too good with games, is it age!?!

  52. June 12, 2009 10:34 pm

    I really like the extent of research and effort in your posts.
    Soon you would become a walking encyclopedia (if not already).

    Have spent hours and hours on the game :).
    me- thanks BP :) :D nah!I am not..in from one ear out the other :D
    I am a born amnesiac :D
    but seriously thanks a lot :)

  53. Anamika permalink
    June 17, 2009 11:00 pm

    Hello, first timer here and could not help but comment. After all its Tetris you are talking about. I love the game, the little tricks, T-spins, a never final high score. You should try out the different versions of the game on Facebook. All great but there is one where you make the max score in 2 minutes, its the best. Thanks for the post. Anything Tetris makes me very happy.
    me-welcome here Anamika:)
    anotehr fan I can see ;) very obvious from your passionate comment :D
    tetris mania is best understood by the maniacs :D
    do you have a blog? :)
    would love to drop in if you do have one:)

  54. June 18, 2009 1:20 pm

    wheres mario :(

    me-welcome here Aniruddha :) :D Mario ..I had forgotten quite a few names though I remembered the games…..like Street fighter mario and all :)

    check out the comments
    there quite a few who remember mario :D

  55. June 20, 2009 12:13 am

    I love playing the hidden object games :)
    me-another gaming fan?
    you like games na?bas thats enough! :D

Trackbacks

  1. Tetris Mania | Console Gaming
  2. Guild Wars vs World of Warcraft | WowLog.info

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 128 other followers

