Skip to content

Shhh! There’s a revolution coming

October 28, 2013

Coz if you peep into my class you will be astounded. With wide, open eyes you might  tut tut and call me names.

My heart is bursting with happiness and pride. Look at my baby chicks. They yearn to fly.

I took them on a journey  I feared was too tough. Much too incomprehensible to them. But how they have travelled. I wish you could see.:)

We talk of ‘sati’ and they visualize. And  visualize . And they shrink back in horror. Their faces betray the fear inside them. No gender differences then. No, ma’am.

We talk of ‘dowry’ and being ‘educated’ and  being all ‘modern’. And they tell me what being modern truly means.

They want to tell  me everything. All  at once. Words piling on top of each other. The eagerness and fire to tell me all of it. How they feel. What they believe. Have now started believing. What they will change.

But ma’am, it was……is so unfair! How could they do this?’

We talk of karwa chauth. The very word makes them giggle. The boys and girls. They are all children really. No gender differences. Not until now. How long will they stay like this I wonder?

But I am standing here. Between them and the rest of the world. As long as I am here, I won’t let you tell them.

”If keeping a fast for someone can make them have a longer life, why do we go to hospitals and doctors?” I ask them this.

More giggles. More titters.

But they understand. Are understanding.

Then I ask them. ”Why does all of it revolve  only around women?

Do you see?  This is the crucial one.

We talk of patriarchy and feminism. and more. They don’t know the words for it. But they know it. Yes, they do.

You might think it’s arrogance that I write thus. That I show myself for the ‘ teacher’ that I am. Go ahead. Say what you want. Today, I am celebrating a small win. A moment I wish I could bottle and keep. Forever. More moments that are yet to come.

Shhhh! Don’t tell anyone. I am bringing about a revolution. The most dangerous one.  The quiet kind .

My kiddos have started thinking. Would you believe?:)

7 Comments leave one →
  1. October 29, 2013 10:05 am

    I do believe. Awesome Indyeah. Nothing can change as fast as a new generations that learns to think for themselves and questions without fear, aloud or in their own minds. Hugs.
    me- (hugs) back IHM:) thank you!

  2. November 3, 2013 6:13 pm

    Here’s to your little ones – may they be just as curious, thinking, open and rebellious when they meet the very concepts in real life – though they probably have, already!
    And here’s to you, who makes them, and stands between them and those who might corrupt this innocence! Go, kids, go!
    Hugs!
    me- (((((hugs)))) thank you for that Ushus:)

  3. November 4, 2013 8:39 am

    I believe too!!
    This post was heart-warming and filled with hope!
    Hugs!
    me- ((hugs)))back sweetie:)

  4. November 4, 2013 12:43 pm

    Every small step is a big win.
    me- yep. that is the only thing that makes me hope.

  5. November 7, 2013 3:16 pm

    Kudos to you!

    me- :)

  6. December 1, 2013 12:34 pm

    Kudos to the teacher in you and the values you teach !! The teacher makes all the difference in seeing the world in a newer and brighter perspective…may your work continue forever, as we get to see a young minds which can question the myths and break them too..
    Hugs dear, hope you are doing well :)
    me- Thanks Uma:)one certainly hopes so. amen to that thought.yes, doing well. thank you for asking. though scatter brained these days with taking care of a home for the first time. tiring but nice:)(hugs)

  7. December 22, 2013 12:39 pm

    Yes, I do want to believe. What’s life without some good faith. eh? ;)
    me :)

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 128 other followers

