Skip to content

A christening..

January 7, 2009

..and thats exactly what it has been…becoming a blogger,a member of this ‘hallowed’:D club has been an experience in itself…..

In the beginning, you gradually came to know that there was something called pssstt*blogging*…:D

One has vaguely heard about it of course…one is also aware that various celestial beings are part of this world that they speak of..:D and yet it remains a distant dream.
For,what do I have that I can write about? I am nobody.I am just me.I don’t even have that great or that exciting a life.Pretty boring actually.
Hmmm…..maybe I can just read the other blogs.Ahem..That way,I dont have to participate,I can put in my two cents,I can be a troll too *evil grin*
(hey!never been one!:D)..
AND I can safely say I am a blogger.
Till one day I realized that those were the very requirements…(except for the troll thing:D)nobody?just you?boring ?exciting?hey!come rght here…you are Exactly what they are looking for!Blogger dreams are made of these.:)

So here I am in the pool,jumping off the deep end,wet feet and all…:)

Reading the various blogs makes you wonder ,”Am I really up to it?”Is this what they speak of when they say,”Blog to your heart’s content!”?

And reading it,ALL OF IT,the desi ones,the phirang ones,the hindi movies fan,the Hollywood fan,the one who lives in a place you have never heard of ,let alone pronounce,and the one that sounds suspiciously like your colleague down the hall… … all of it makes you realize that EVERYONE has a story ….a story to tell, a story to share,a story that you too might have lived or might get to live for all you know…!!A story that’s still inside you and you never knew,words that were in your head but they said it for you.(this rhymes?!:D )

They have a point of view that’s so unique that you are gaping open mouthed,
a point of view that is so much like yours that it could be you(gaping open mouthed again..):D
a point of view thats just so contrary to yours and yet you are compelled to read it.

This is my way of saying thank you to those who have been so supportive,been so encouraging,and most of all the ones who didnt just read …but commented too…

Can you even imagine what a simple comment does to someone?A simple comment, a beautiful comment, a touching one,an encouraging one,one from the other side of the world…..and all of them form a bond with you,a bond of words so simple and yet so complex that you could almost be their family or maybe a cherished friend or a neighbour….A comment is like a compliment in this bloggy lil world(except for the trolls)It’s like a complete stranger coming up to you on the street and telling you how amzing you look…or in the case of some bloggers…its like getting a warm hug 🙂

And let me come to the other part ,the follower.This one?This one’s downright intimidating coz you open your blog one day and there you see it…a follower,the very first one and you think…Oh God!someone’s ACTUALLY FOLLOWING what I write?Someone out there is READING THIS STUFF???? panic!panic!panic!

……and each day you see another one and another one…and then it hits you…these people,veterans all of them, are actually expecting you to write something better,something sensible…they have seen something in you and they want to keep track….
So, here you are chewing your fingernails …..wondering,questioning(and hoping?)that you live upto all of it,expectations and all..
Remember when on the first day of school,you stood in front of the school gate clutching your mom’s fingers and your school bag,bottle in hand,tears in eyes,about to step into this big, bad world and on the verge of wailing your head off?Well…. this is kinda like that …but I had guardian angels to guide me and encourage me..:)

The ones who seem like friends now are here….this is for them…

So here goes….
Thank you Prateek for the very first comment on my blog,for taking the time to actually go through that long post..:)

Thank you Mavin for that detailed comment and going through yet another long post…:)

Thank you so much Vinod Sir.Actually ,I am kind of in awe…coz having been a lurker on your blog for so long I couldn’t believe that you commented…*Happy grin*I mean not only do you reply to each and every comment on yours,you commented here too…:)thank you!!

Thank you Gopinath’s ”Artickles”!for that wonderful comment…It gave a lot of encouragement .Whenever I am in need of a smile I head over to your blog.:)

Thank you My Castle in Spain!You have been a sweetheart!and I am thankful to ‘blogs of note’ for helping me discover you..:)You are a wonderful writer Lala and your blog’s even more so..:)….I can almost see you….the quintessential cheerful fairy!:)

Thank you Ajit for taking out the time to comment…I have seen how you encourage others also…and I learnt a lil smthng there….:)ur blog by the way always provides food for thought…:)

Thank you Aren for being one of the very first to follow ,sure needed the encouragement….and your blog’s been so different…kp writing,kp sharing..:)

Thank you Dream a Dream ,for being the very first follower…I love you sweetheart you know that…meanwhile lets just pretend we dont know each other and we dont read each other’s posts:D….keep dreaming beautiful dreams..

Thank you IHM!:)you whom I have saved for last…coz you …you are special…there you are with a magic wand, a little encouragement here, a little there,a lil nudge a gentle push….seen you do it to so many first timers like me…We really need it…IHM you rock!you really do:)thank you..

And some that I admire..
Nita-who despite differences in opinion took out the time to write a letter to a naive girl,explaining gently why she doesnt believe in certain things.For taking out time and the gentlenesss thank you.:)

Tango Baby-how I wish I had your flair for words,for capturing a moment….you transport your readers to your own world…and thats so amazing:)

The Brat,Bean,MM and OA– for publishing comments that were contrary to yur views and yet you went ahead…I admire your panache……the bindaas attitude…

thats bout it for today……good night and god bless…:)

Dont hv time for the new post today:(….anyway tmrw’s another day..:)

10 Comments leave one →
  1. Ajit permalink
    January 7, 2009 7:56 am

    First of all, I need to say, that those were the exact reasons I started blogging…..
    It is all about getting different opinions so that we can build ours…
    and yes, regarding comments, in my blog, under the section “Leave your comment”, I have said “Enlighten Me”…..
    it is so because with peoples ideas and comments, I believe that I have improved as a blogger…

    and finally, Thanks for your description of this “Ordinary Guy”….

  2. Vinod_Sharma permalink
    January 7, 2009 4:28 pm

    Abhilasha, I don’t know why you think that you do not have a flair for words…you are easily one of the better writers…such a terrific flow of thoughts, so beautifully expressed. May be you are still in that first-day-in-school uncertain phase…soon you will realise that you belong to the best school, the best section and the best seat in class…

    Keep writing whatever you feel is worth sharing…you will only enrich your world and the worlds of those who share your space…

  3. Indyeah permalink
    January 8, 2009 5:58 am

    Ajit:- :)Yeah exactly one realizes these things over a period of time…and you are welcome..:)

    Vinod Sir:-wow!thats such a huge compliment AND that’s a huge morale booster..:)maybe it’ll take time to get used to the ‘best seat’…:)one thing stuck with me…
    ”Keep writing whatever you feel is worth sharing…you will only enrich your world and the worlds of those who share your space..”so simple and so easy to understand..thats exactly what I’ll do now..:).

  4. Indian Home Maker permalink
    January 10, 2009 8:08 am

    Indyeah, No email address here? !

  5. Indyeah permalink
    January 10, 2009 10:19 am

    Its maniac.leo@gmail.com….of course thats assuming you are asking for mine right?:D

  6. Aren O. Týr permalink
    January 10, 2009 10:21 am

    Different? I would suppose so. And perhaps that is one of the most wonderful things about the internet: it gives us a window into a totally different world.

    In our case, geographically, nearly on opposite sides of the world.

    Blogs are something authentic, unlike most written sources, which usually have some sort of agenda or larger purpose. By that I mean, they are often unfiltered; they are personal; they are reflective; they give you insight into an individual life.

    The modern world is so globalised and complex, that we tend to concentrate on things on a macroscopic scale: everything on a large scale, whether we talk about politics, war, the economy.

    But the microscopic is always just as revealing – and just as important.

    For although I can say that I have knowledge of various things about India (for example) on a macroscopic scale, its enormous variety… yet, your blog gives me a small window into an individual life in this enormous continent.

    In other words, it gives me potential answers to such questions: What is the inner life of someone living there? How does it compare to mine? How do my thoughts, feelings, and struggles relate with someone living somewhere completely different? How much of my life is culturally coloured, and how much is simply “generally human”?

    And so that is one of the great rewards: the chance to connect with someone, living a vastly different life, that would normally never happen otherwise.

    And so for that connection, however slight, I reciprocate and say thank you 🙂

    For the world can be a lonely place, irrespective of how many people “surround” you.

    And finally, how much actual communication really occurs in day to day life? We all talk and share endless words, but with most people we manage to talk, yet without communicating – for we rarely share what we really care about.

  7. Indyeah permalink
    January 11, 2009 9:28 am

    ”In other words, it gives me potential answers to such questions: What is the inner life of someone living there? How does it compare to mine? How do my thoughts, feelings, and struggles relate with someone living somewhere completely different? How much of my life is culturally coloured, and how much is simply “generally human”?”

    Beautifully said Aren…:)Truly…

    As for how much ‘Actual communication’occurs in daily life is something that I am just beginning to discover….Thoughts/words/experiences/views everything is coming out in a rush….the blog’s been a boon…:)

    and this is so true…how true I can’t even begin to tell you..”.for we rarely share what we really care about.”
    beautifully said..:)and very perceptive…

  8. Kislay permalink
    January 13, 2009 10:18 pm

    “Can you even imagine what a simple comment does to someone?A simple comment, a beautiful comment, a touching one,an encouraging one,one from the other side of the world…..and all of them form a bond with you,a bond of words so simple and yet so complex that you could almost be their family or maybe a cherished friend or a neighbour….A comment is like a compliment in this bloggy lil world(except for the trolls)It’s like a complete stranger coming up to you on the street and telling you how amzing you look…or in the case of some bloggers…its like getting a warm hug :)”

    Exactly what I felt . Just could never say it . Beautiful post . You rock as usual . 🙂

  9. Usha Pisharody permalink
    January 23, 2009 8:39 pm

    Thank you too!!!

    And yes, it has been so, and still is… 🙂 The wondering, the feeling of amazement, of utter joy in reading comments, and learning about empathy, of sharing, of a point of view so vastly different yet so acceptable, of learning to fend off negativity, and taking in positive constructive criticism.. 🙂 🙂

    I meet more of the self, as I read more here 🙂 🙂

  10. Indyeah permalink
    February 7, 2009 8:57 am

    Usha Pisharody:-:):)No..thank you for those words..:)
    I think we have already met….or have you forgotten?remember that distant day?in a rush both of us…barely glanced at each other..and yet something seemed to have passed between?that was me…and that was you…:)
    hugs!!

Leave a Reply

