Skip to content

A protest..

February 10, 2009

Remember a few days back when I came to know of a march being organised in Delhi and I wrote about it urging all of you to join in?
Well,I am rather happy to say that things seem to be going quite well indeed and that Namrata,the brains behind this idea is one hell of a dedicated individual!:)
JOIN IN HERE TO BE A PART OF THIS EFFORT!
This is Namrata’s baby through and through.
An individual who knows where she stands and is willing to fight for it.

Today I went to her place to discuss and see what could be done and how I could help.
And when I reached there I was zapped to see the whole family pitching in so enthusiastically and full of josh!:)
A father who helped with the placards to a mother who was with us all throughout., encouraging us.
And the sheer logistics required for something like this!Boggles my mind!
Hats off to you NAMRATA!:)

You gave me a little something to think about too ,on how I could better utilise my time by doing something for those people and those causes I care about.

I also met Aneesha,a blogger friend,there who had come as a journo to know more about what we were doing.
Never having met any blogger friend before ,you can imagine my surprise and joy!:)
It’s a very small world indeed.:)
Loved meeting you and knowing your views.

WE are meeting on . saturday 14 february 2009, 11 am -1:30 pm.at Jantar Mantar.
Are you coming too?
Spread the word around.Get your family and friends.

Also a request.
Could you please do something like this in your city too?Wherever it is that you live in?

Any time is enough time when utilised properly and you still have a few days to plan.
Go for it people!
Make a point in your city too!

AND PLEASE LET YOUR DELHI FRIENDS KNOW ABOUT THIS.
WRITE ON YOUR BLOGS.
SPREAD THE WORD AROUND.

The three of us and a session of writing…

The brains behind this whole idea..:)

Busy networking..

The journo friend who had come for work related questions and ended up helping out with the placards..:)Thats the way to go!

19 Comments leave one →
  1. Kislay permalink
    February 10, 2009 5:06 am

    This is wonderful . More mature way to do things .

  2. Solilo permalink
    February 10, 2009 5:52 am

    Abhi, Way to go! I wish I could join you all. But I am there in spirit. 🙂

    How is the turn out? Are there more people joining you all on that day?

  3. Vinod_Sharma permalink
    February 10, 2009 6:07 am

    Great to hear the way you and your friends are going about protesting… you will meet with great success. I wish people in other cities and towns too register their justified and necessary protest in this balanced and dignified manner.

  4. Vinod_Sharma permalink
    February 10, 2009 6:26 am

    I have given a link to this post in my post on the pink panties campaign. Hope many people support all of you.

  5. Indian Home Maker permalink
    February 10, 2009 6:26 am

    Brilliant Indyeah! I am calling everyone I know in Delhi and telling them about this!

    This is so wonderful …. like Bombay protests. Yes and it is such a huge statement … I hope a large number of people collect there, this will be the second time when people are uniting in this way and protesting.
    It’s really great to see all the anger we felt was not just us.

    Loved the messages on your placards!
    I like the idea of cities all over India doing the same thing. What a way to celebrate valentine’s day… maybe this will be how we will control (to some degree) this goondaraj?!

  6. Ajit permalink
    February 10, 2009 6:45 am

    That is great!!!!!!!!!!!

    continue the good work… and I wish I was in India now….
    I would have come for sure……
    by train, bus or plane… but I would have been there…..

  7. February 10, 2009 7:19 am

    That is Awesome Indyeah !! Hope many more people join in…

  8. Winnie the poohi permalink
    February 10, 2009 7:57 am

    way to go!

  9. Indyeah permalink
    February 10, 2009 10:57 am

    Thank you evryone for all the love and support:)
    I will get back with replies in sometime…

    @Vinod Sir Thank you for that link:)Thank you so much for your words..:)and the encouragement

    @Solilo:)you know already how I feel 😀 so thanks 🙂 (hugs)
    @IHM you are the inspiration behind my joining these protests…and I am not kidding…((hugs))we need all your love..and support:)
    arre I might as well answer evryone now..:D
    Kislay:-thank you if any man deserves to be called a feminist its you..you make me proud ..:)

    Ajit:-I would have come for sure……
    by train, bus or plane… but I would have been there…..
    🙂 I believe you..:)you would have come..:)however the fact that you are behind us is heartening too:)

    N:-thank you..I hope so too:)

    Winnie:-Thanks:)
    hope everyone joins in:)

  10. Usha Pisharody permalink
    February 10, 2009 2:32 pm

    Bows to thee, O learner 🙂

    Way to go, gurl.. :)Darned proud to know you too. And yes this is the way to speak up and be heard and make a difference!

    You girls are wonderful. The whole idea is simply so good too. I do hope word spreads and you people do get that attention so that the message is delivered, in some small way!

    All best wishes for a successful session. God Bless!

  11. nimis540 permalink
    February 10, 2009 6:22 pm

    Bravo…Unlike the majority who don’t want to do anything but just keep talking,unlike the group of people who would really like to do something like this,but aren’t able to, a few people like you manage to do some ACTION..Will surely spread your word.Afterall,thatz all what i can do 😦

  12. Indyeah permalink
    February 10, 2009 6:59 pm

    Usha Pusharody:-awww….thank you so much….keeping my fingers crossed and hoping that this goes off well.:)((hugs))

    Thank YOU:)

    Nimmy:-Thank you….your word would sure help:)
    and hey!your heart’s right behind this and thats enough too for now…..eveyone cant be here na?:)
    hugs:)

  13. Chirag permalink
    February 10, 2009 9:10 pm

    These thing make you proud to be an Indian.

  14. Solilo permalink
    February 10, 2009 11:05 pm

    I just came here again to tell you that I am so proud of you Abhi.

    Just 3 days to go. Hope everything works out fine. I wish I could be there with you guys but check my blog I am there in spirits :)):))

  15. hitch writer permalink
    February 10, 2009 11:21 pm

    REally proud of you !!!

    wish us the best !!!

  16. roop permalink
    February 11, 2009 5:29 am

    much luck to y’all.

  17. Indyeah permalink
    February 11, 2009 11:19 pm

    Chirag:-:)..yeah me too:)

    Solilo:-awww….((hugs0)…keeping my fingers crossed too:)I hope it goes off well..:)I loved the movie one today..:)I know you are…:)

    Dhiren:)Thank you so much:)

    Roop:-Thank:)we need all the wishes..:)

  18. Balvinder Singh permalink
    February 12, 2009 1:34 am

    Abhilasha, sorry i came here late somehow missed this post. Great idea to wake the powers that be. I wish you all good luck in your endevour to ensure genuine freedom for all.

  19. ahmad raza permalink
    February 14, 2009 4:48 am

    good work!!kudos!!

Leave a Reply

