Skip to content

Of the Delhi protest….

February 13, 2009

Edited to add:-
Before you start reading this,read what Poonam’s written..:) about the protest and how!
I loved it…

Power to us ,the common people..!!:)
and hey!just got to know from Aneesha’s blog that we are on AP Associated Press!
Check out Aneesha’s Blog here!!Look at how well she sums up the issue..and what the day was all about!
Look at what Aneesha writes,I carried one placard home with me on the metro… it was for the first time that i saw not lecherousness but curiosity and to an extent appreciation in people’s stares… all through the metro ride.. and the rickshaw ride from teh station… dont know how many people read that placard in my lap.. ” girls are not cattle. stop locking us up at dusk” for the first time.. the men who stared at me were not looking at my body.. but the placard… women on the road smiled at me.. people stopped to read..my own little protest.. to add to teh big one i had been part of…”

Loved reading it Aneesha!:)

And keep a look out for what Namrata posts next.I am sure its going to be about the protest..
Namrata ,you really inspire!!!:)

This below was my original post, a lament..but these two girls have made me feel good..:)

Okay now that you have read theirs I can start:)
Got back from Jantar Mantar about an hour back.
Here are the pictures.Wasn’t able to take many coz I too was a part of the protest,standing there and all..(and plain forgot:D)
However,these were taken in the last minutes as the protest was wrapping up.
And umm..we were covered by Reuters too among others..:D


Hard to get everyone in the frame…That’s Namrata in red.

Busy discussing the Constitution.


A blogger ,Jasdeep who came after getting to know of Namrata’s blog through Roop’s blog (whew!Long connection!thanks for spreading the word Roop):)

This struck right at the heart of the issue..


Protest…….


Namrata ,as the CNN IBN Citizen Journalist for the day…


Protesting….


Discussions galore…

The media…An Interview with Namrata…


A bit tiring towards the end….but the ‘josh‘ was still the same…

Media frenzy…

For Liberty……And freedom of choice…
So many issues lie at the heart of it..It becomes so difficult to separate them sometimes…


Will someone make the ‘sanskriti ke thekedaars’ understand this?

IF you would like to see more pics go here http://flickr.com/photos/mayankaustensoofi
The above is a constantly updated photo stream ,so please type ‘Valentine’s Day, Delhi Style’
(On flickr,I am the one in black in two pics and in another in floaters somewhere:D ,clicking pics ,in case you would like to know:) )and here http://thedelhiwalla.blogspot.com/

Mayank has clicked the ones on these sites…and darn well too…mine are from a piddly lil cam..:D

So granted that the number was not huge, but it was heartening to see that people did care enough to come and voice their protest.

The protest has been covered by CNN IBN(You can catch the ‘Stop Moral Policing’Report by Citizen Journalist for the day Namrata Kotwani)Its been coming since afternoon , Sahara, NDTV India ,CNBC , India TV(*sigh*yes,they too) Focus TV(have no idea,but a woman’s channel as the journalist told me),
and by publications like Indian Express, Mail Today(tabloid) , Hindustan Times…
However,I am not very sure of the publications(it was hard to get hold of the photographers )
Also met Mayank Austen Soofi ( a blogger I think most of you know:) ) He has blogs galore.He was there and was busy clicking pictures:) And a rather pleasant surprise (and surprise is a mild word:D) in the form of Poonam whom all of you know from Visceral Observations.
The shrieking (mine and Poonam’s was as if ,at a reunion:D )She refuses to call me anything but Indyeah..:)
Meeting Poonam was as amazing as meeting Namrata and Aneesha..:)whom I had met earlier.
Like I said before it’s a small world indeed.
To be absolutely frank,I was rather disappointed with the blogger turnout .And some of my friends too who cancelled at the last minute.

But overall, even as tired as I was (and surely others must have been too),It seemed like we had done something,standing there outside Janta Mantar,on the pavement,madly waving our placards for all and sundry.
So that even those who were passing by could see what we were standing there for.So that it would make them think,if only for a moment..

Thank you, a really heartfelt one to those who came.The generation next is not the ‘chalta hai’ one…I saw that today.
Thank you.

However,as I entered home all jubiliant and ecstatic at having been a part of something,I saw and am still looking at news flashes from around the country….so many incidents of ‘Moral Policing’ are being reported on TV even as I write this.
I am feeling sick and upset.Is this what we are in for?
Despite having known that such incidents happen every year on Valentine’s ,despite knowing that goondas will be out in the streets,is this all the governments can do?

And just sitting here looking at all of it,incidents being reported from Ujjain,Pune and other places…I am just thinking..”was today worth it?”
How do we stop this? How?
Is this enough?

(I am sorry for the ramble…its really incoherent right now….the TV images are not letting any feeling of having ‘done something’ sink in…)

To each and everyone of you who have been here as you say ‘in spirit’:)a thank you from the bottom of my heart..:)


Edited to add:-for two lovely amazing strong girls Aneesha and Poonam,who made me smile after I wrote this lament of a post!Thanks((hugs))
The template change, coz Poonam says ”people can’t strain their eyes sweetheart!”🙂

I will be able to analyse all this more coherently when the images from TV are not flashing in my mind…
Hopefully, I will be able to see more hope in all this, than I see today.

22 Comments leave one →
  1. Balvinder Singh permalink
    February 14, 2009 1:26 am

    Abhilasha, please accept and also convey many many congratulations to all the crusaders of this campaign. It has really brought out the warning, loud and clear, to the hooligans as well as to those who have no respect for the other half of our society.

  2. hitch writer permalink
    February 14, 2009 1:32 am

    Bravo !!!!

    Clap Clap Clap !!!

    Salutations !!!

    Support !!!!

    WTG Indyeah !!!!

  3. nimis540 permalink
    February 14, 2009 2:07 am

    Hey dear..

    I was eagerly waiting for your post..Nevermind about the number of people who turned out,there are many many out here who supports you guys..Some may not be able to make it,some maybe afraid ,its not that they don’t support your cause…

    Congragulations for doing something in real and i ams ure that tomorrow or day after tomorrow,women will benefit from this act of yours..

    God bless..

    p.s : You met Poonam..cool,even i want to meet many of you😦

  4. Usha Pisharody permalink
    February 14, 2009 2:40 am

    You all made a difference, Meg, and that difference was through voices, through the togetherness, and through a loud message that we matter too, and no body is going to lock us up! Congratulations to all of you… and you see, that one person who had the coviction to see it thru’ inspired so many others, that it just had to overflow into this oneness of expression.

    I am so so so proud of you really, and all of you who were there. Don’t have the CNNibn channel here, but I did catch some clips on other channels about the goings on, all of them upbeat about the way this contemporary gandhian tactic has worked! Bravo!

    Also it should not pull down your morale that incidents have happened elsewhere; for now with the success of this movement, others will take inspiration and also try and make a move to assert themselves!

    Wonderful, Meg, absolutely wonderful.. all those pics… [I think I saw one in which someone is there.. :D] and all those tid bits of info.

    thank you, thank you so much!

  5. Poonam permalink
    February 14, 2009 2:50 am

    Hey, Abhi (ok, Indyeah aside, fo once :P) I wrote about the protest too, mine is mild reporting piece. I have linked to your blog and also this post. It was pleasure to meet you too!😉

    Here is the link: http://alchemistpoonam.wordpress.com/2009/02/14/anti-moral-policing-protest-in-delhi/

    @Nimmy: God willing, we all will meet soon.🙂

  6. Indyeah permalink
    February 14, 2009 2:54 am

    Balvinder sir:-Thank you so much…
    I hope that the warning’s clear too…and that people do come out whenevr something like this happens…

    Hitchwriter:-)Thank you so much Dhiren!:)Your support and wishes worked!:)

    Nimmy:-Thanks ((hugss)))
    yeah, I really hope from the bottom of my heart!Really hope that all this makes a difference somewhere.. however small…:)
    Awww…dont ya worry!sometimes even without meeting someone,one has a connection more strong than any other..:)I feel like I know you much better than many I meet evryday..:D..
    ((hugs))

    Usha:)((hugs)))somehow your words matter a hell of a lot…:)

    and thank you for reminding me of this,”and you see, that one person who had the coviction to see it thru’ inspired so many others, that it just had to overflow into this oneness of expression.”
    Yeah I forgot..needed that reminder so bad..:)

    ((hugs))cant give you enough of those..:)
    I hope others do this evrytime something like this happens..
    On flickr ,in two photos ,I am the one in black busy clicking pics….:D
    :)…

    Thank you so much for all the wishes and encouragement which kept coming from you….even till morning..:)

  7. Usha Pisharody permalink
    February 14, 2009 3:00 am

    Lol.. typo… *conviction..🙂

    Hate them when I make them :D!

  8. February 14, 2009 4:48 am

    Hey Indyeah Congratulations to all of you out there !!!
    And a big thank you from all of us out here. You make us so proud.🙂 HUGS!!

  9. Poonam Sharma permalink
    February 14, 2009 5:36 am

    Hey, your blog looks good. Find more beautiful themes, which I am sure you will.🙂

    And your sidebar is awesome, I am sure you would have won best sidebar award in Avant Garde bloggies awards (this is link to last year winners: http://alchemistpoonam.wordpress.com/2008/12/11/avant-garde-bloggies-awards-winners/)😀

  10. Ajit permalink
    February 14, 2009 6:08 am

    Hey Indyeah….🙂

    Bravoooo!!! as hitchwriter says…

    and this is inspiring…..

    I have been in protest marches when i was in college but it was merely for the fun of it and i realize that i have done nothing for a cause or my beliefs…
    which i will do now…🙂

    Great going… and CONGRATS!!!!!
    you guys rocked Delhi…..

  11. aneesha permalink
    February 14, 2009 6:33 am

    aaawwww. THANK YOU abhilasha!!!!
    fo rall the praises u heaped on my blog entry… but ii still think YOu wrote the best..
    and look out 4 more pix tomorrow.. we can link the ones taht come in the papers on the blogs…
    >hug<
    it was awsome meeting u guys

  12. Solilo permalink
    February 14, 2009 8:55 am

    I am ecstatic. I felt I was part of it and I was. Wasn’t I? In spirit. HURRAY!!!

    I am so proud of us all esp. of you, Poonam, Aneesha and each one of those unknown Indian who was speaking my voice.

    We WON! Next time any fanatic tries to rule us, we will answer back using Gandhigiri. Yes! Gandhigiri works!!

    {{{Hugs to my dearest Abhi}}}

    Next time I am in India, we should all have a bloggers meet. Delhi is apt. Capital of my country.

  13. Indian Home Maker permalink
    February 14, 2009 8:55 am

    I was waiting for this!!!!

    The photographs are inspiring, the spirit is even more inspiring Abhilasha … and I was watching TV and all News like a maniac all day to see what was happening in Delhi.

    Such protests should be seen by all, they make a HUGE statement, I love the placard about girls being locked in at dusk… like cattle! We live like that and forget it’s not right!

    In fact I feel there is no better way to celebrate a Valentine’s day than to fight for (and how peacefully) the love of your Liberty. I heard people of all generations supporting the voices (on TV in the interviews)there in Janmantar …

    CONGRATULATIONS🙂
    And Thank You🙂 We need this!

  14. anrosh permalink
    February 14, 2009 3:49 pm

    for a fabulous job of coordinating you ROCK..

    now you can definitely let your hair down..and Relax for a job well done.

    i am making chai (it is cold here) what will you have ?

  15. roop permalink
    February 15, 2009 2:37 pm

    This is SOOOOO FAntastic!! and voila!! i had my representation too in Jasdeep!😀😀 omg this is fantastic!!!!

    i am so so so so happy that you guys pulled this off with such finesse. more power to future events. i wish i was there.

  16. Indyeah permalink
    February 15, 2009 6:31 pm

    N:-Thank you so much for logging on and wishing:)that was so sweet!:)

    ((hugs))for making all of us feel it was worht it..:)

    Poonam:):)heh!heh!thanks!
    And I saw your award ceremony !MY god How did you coordinate the whole thing?:D
    awesome is the word that comes to mind..:)

    Poonam loved meeting you..:)((hugs))

    Ajit:-Hey!I was and am pretyy much in the same boat..its only now since after Mumbai that have started protesting left right and centre…

    Thanks:)for all the words,so many of them all encouraging..:)

    Aneesha:-…:D nah!come on! I really liked that para a lot!and a journo too:)keep going Aneesha!
    ((hugs))

    yeah am keeping my eyes peeled..:)

  17. Indyeah permalink
    February 15, 2009 6:38 pm

    Solilo:-((hugs))
    your words are so darn encouraging always..:)yes,you were here!in spirit!:)

    ”We WON! Next time any fanatic tries to rule us, we will answer back using Gandhigiri. Yes! Gandhigiri works!!”
    yeah lets come together ech time this happens!

    oh we will have a capital meet…you and I for sure..:D

    ((hugs))
    you really think I’ll let you go if you are in India?:)

    IHM:-:)I can soo imagine you sitting there in front of the tv and watching out for us too:)

    ”Such protests should be seen by all, they make a HUGE statement, I love the placard about girls being locked in at dusk… like cattle! We live like that and forget it’s not right!”
    yes,all the girls LOVED it!specially Aneesha!:)
    it was just so true!!

    Thank you IHM!voices like yours awaken a lot of people..:)
    ((hugs))

    Anrosh:-Thanks..you rock in my opinion coz of your clear cut views which dont lose focus..:)

    aww…I had tea too..)pucca chai addict I am..:D

    yeah letting my hair down🙂
    thanks((hugs))

    Roop:-Aww…thank you:)
    Jasdeep was really sincere and darn sweet!
    All of us in a groups of 5-6 were busy discussing all the issues in a heated manner:D

    and yup like I mentioned below the pic…it was because of you that he was here,so thanks..:)
    you were here in spirit nad by representation:)

  18. Jasdeep permalink
    February 16, 2009 11:31 pm

    Hey Thanks for nice summary of the protest. It was really great to meet all you wonderful ladies.
    Looking forward to join on further activities too.

    “Iss ros pardarshan ke peeche USA (Roop) kaa bhi haath hai”🙂 haina

    Bravo!
    Jasdeep

  19. Indyeah permalink
    February 17, 2009 8:01 am

    Jasdeep:-Thank you too:)coz met you and realized what a powerful medium the net is..:)
    yeah USA was represented too:)
    bravo to you too!we need more men like you in India!:)
    yes,I do hope we create a ntework so that we can participate in more such activities..:)thanks again:)

  20. March 31, 2009 7:27 pm

    Apna pata badal liya!

  21. indyeahforever permalink*
    March 31, 2009 8:06 pm

    lol!haan😀

  22. Indyeahforever permalink*
    March 31, 2009 9:03 pm

    😀😀
    This is soo cool😀
    I am like a kid in kindergarten😀

Leave a Reply

