Skip to content

Verse love:)

November 22, 2014
tags:

For Meens who tagged me and  made me revisit some favourites:)

 

There was a time when I was about 11 or 12, when I struggled to grasp the nuances of sentences said, poems written, meanings that were hidden in the crevices of words.
When poems that were beyond my understanding struck me as pompous.
I know:) The naivety and arrogance of the young.

Then somehow, through some stroke of luck I found teachers. Teachers who opened new worlds for me. The gaping with disbelief, awestruck me.
Not just in school but outside it too.
Those who took me by the hand and gently guided me into the bewildering world of poetry.

1.

Not a poem but a part of many couplets of his.
Something ethereal about these lines.

Auguries of Innocence

To see a World in a Grain of Sand
And a Heaven in a Wild Flower
Hold Infinity in the palm of your hand
And Eternity in an hour

-William Blake
From ‘Auguries of innocence

2. Unending Love

I seem to have loved you in numberless forms, numberless times…
In life after life, in age after age, forever.
My spellbound heart has made and remade the necklace of songs,
That you take as a gift, wear round your neck in your many forms,
In life after life, in age after age, forever.

Whenever I hear old chronicles of love, its age-old pain,
Its ancient tale of being apart or together.
As I stare on and on into the past, in the end you emerge,
Clad in the light of a pole-star piercing the darkness of time:
You become an image of what is remembered forever.

You and I have floated here on the stream that brings from the fount.
At the heart of time, love of one for another.
We have played along side millions of lovers, shared in the same
Shy sweetness of meeting, the same distressful tears of farewell-
Old love but in shapes that renew and renew forever.

Today it is heaped at your feet, it has found its end in you
The love of all man’s days both past and forever:
Universal joy, universal sorrow, universal life.
The memories of all loves merging with this one love of ours –
And the songs of every poet past and forever.

– Rabindranath Tagore

Need I say anything?:)

3. मैं तेनु फिर मिलांगी
(Amrita’s words in Gulzar’s voice)

Main Tenu Fir Milaan Gi
Kithey? Kis Tarah? Pata Nai
Shayad Terey Takhayul Di Chinag Ban Ke
Terey Canvas Tey Utraan Gi
Ya Khowrey Terey Canvas Dey Utey
Ikk Rahasmayi Lakeer Ban Ke
Khamosh Tenu Tak Di Rawaan Gi

Yaa Khowrey Sooraj Di Loo Ban Ke
Terey Rangaan Wich Ghulaan Gi
Yaa Rangaan Diyan Bahwaan Wich Baith Ke
Terey Canvas Nuu Walaan Gi
Pata Nai Kiss Tarah? Kithey?
Par Tenu Zaroor Milaan Gi

Yaa Khowrey Ikk Chashma Bani Howaan Gi
Tey Jeevan Jharneyaan Da Paani Udd-da
Main Paani Diyaan Boondaan
Terey Pindey Tey Malaan Gi
Tey Ikk Thandak Jahi Ban Ke
Teri Chaati Dey Naal Lagaan Gi
Main Hor Kujh Nai Jaandi
Par Aena Jaandi
Ke Waqt Jo Vii Karey Ga
Aey Janam Mairey Naal Turey Ga

Aey Jism Mukda Hai
Tay Sab Kujh Muk Jaanda
Par Chaityaan Dey Dhaagey
Kaainaati Kana Dey Hundey
Main Onhaan Kana Nuu Chunaan Gi
Dhaageyaan Nuu Walaan Gi
Tey Tenu Main Fair Milaan Gi…

Translation:-

I will meet you yet again
How and where? I know not.

Perhaps I will become a

figment of your imagination

and maybe, spreading myself

in a mysterious line

on your canvas,

I will keep gazing at you.

Perhaps I will become a ray

of sunshine, to be

embraced by your colours.

I will paint myself on your canvas

I know not how and where –

but I will meet you for sure.

Maybe I will turn into a spring,

and rub the foaming

drops of water on your body,

and rest my coolness on

your burning chest.

I know nothing else

but that this life

will walk along with me.

When the body perishes,

all perishes;

but the threads of memory

are woven with enduring specks.

I will pick these particles,

weave the threads,

and I will meet you yet again.

—-Amrita Pritam.

4. Death is nothing at all.

I have only slipped away to the next room.
I am I and you are you.
Whatever we were to each other,
That, we still are.
Call me by my old familiar name.
Speak to me in the easy way
which you always used.
Put no difference into your tone.
Wear no forced air of solemnity or sorrow.

Laugh as we always laughed
at the little jokes we enjoyed together.
Play, smile, think of me. Pray for me.
Let my name be ever the household word
that it always was.
Let it be spoken without effect.
Without the trace of a shadow on it.

Life means all that it ever meant.
It is the same that it ever was.
There is absolute unbroken continuity.
Why should I be out of mind
because I am out of sight?

I am but waiting for you.
For an interval.
Somewhere. Very near.
Just around the corner.

All is well.

– Henry Scott Holland ~ 1847-1918
Canon of St. Paul’s Cathedral

A poem which has given me solace when nothing could. When there were and are moments that could not be given words, this was my voice. This poem is like a soothing balm.

5. Do Not Go Gentle Into That Good Night

Do not go gentle into that good night,
Old age should burn and rave at close of day;
Rage, rage against the dying of the light.

Though wise men at their end know dark is right,
Because their words had forked no lightning they
Do not go gentle into that good night.

Good men, the last wave by, crying how bright
Their frail deeds might have danced in a green bay,
Rage, rage against the dying of the light.

Wild men who caught and sang the sun in flight,
And learn, too late, they grieved it on its way,
Do not go gentle into that good night.

Grave men, near death, who see with blinding sight
Blind eyes could blaze like meteors and be gay,
Rage, rage against the dying of the light.

And you, my father, there on the sad height,
Curse, bless, me now with your fierce tears, I pray.
Do not go gentle into that good night.
Rage, rage against the dying of the light.

_ Dylan Thomas

Dylan Thomas recites it here.

It was a joy to hear it being recited in the movie ‘Interstellar’. By Michael Caine. It was the first time I heard someone say it with such intensity. (Michael Caine after all!)
Now I know why it was such a favorite of an English teacher whom I respected beyond measure. She had said , ”someday you will understand.”

I hope that I am able to. Till then I am in love with the words even if I don’t understand it in its entirety.

Oh! and if you have not yet seen the movie, then you are really missing something big. Go watch Interstellar now!

6. Understand

Understand, I’ll slip quietly
Away from the noisy crowd
When I see the pale
Stars rising, blooming over the oaks.
I’ll pursue solitary pathways
Through the pale twilit meadows,
With only this one dream:
You come too.
-Rainer Maria Rilke

This one simply is. For us.:)

7. Habitation

Marriage is not
a house or even a tent

it is before that, and colder:

the edge of the forest, the edge
of the desert
the unpainted stairs
at the back where we squat
outside, eating popcorn

the edge of the receding glacier

where painfully and with wonder
at having survived even
this far

we are learning to make fire

-Margaret Atwood

Stark, raw and beautiful.

8. When I am an old woman

When I am an old woman I shall wear purple
With a red hat which doesn’t go, and doesn’t suit me.
And I shall spend my pension on brandy and summer gloves
And satin sandals, and say we’ve no money for butter.
I shall sit down on the pavement when I’m tired
And gobble up samples in shops and press alarm bells
And run my stick along the public railings
And make up for the sobriety of my youth.
I shall go out in my slippers in the rain
And pick flowers in other people’s gardens
And learn to spit.

You can wear terrible shirts and grow more fat
And eat three pounds of sausages at a go
Or only bread and pickle for a week
And hoard pens and pencils and beermats and things in boxes.

But now we must have clothes that keep us dry
And pay our rent and not swear in the street
And set a good example for the children.
We must have friends to dinner and read the papers.

But maybe I ought to practice a little now?
So people who know me are not too shocked and surprised
When suddenly I am old, and start to wear purple.
-Jenny Joseph

Me someday?:)
Oh! I hope so.

9. मधुशाला

http://kaavyaalaya.org/mdhshla.shtml (entire work here)

Manna Dey has lent this classic work his amazing voice.

My favourite lines are these..

धर्मग्रन्थ सब जला चुकी है, जिसके अंतर की ज्वाला,
मंदिर, मसजिद, गिरिजे, सब को तोड़ चुका जो मतवाला,
पंडित, मोमिन, पादिरयों के फंदों को जो काट चुका,
कर सकती है आज उसी का स्वागत मेरी मधुशाला।।१७।

-हरिवंश राय बच्चन

10.

And here is a poetess extraordinaire whom I love.
She resides here

http://questforheaven.blogspot.in/

The title of her blog says it all.

A Quest…..!
to seek those gossamer nuances of words, that come not from me, but thru’ me:)

And soft as gossamer her words certainly are:)

This one below, is an all time favourite of mine.

 

For the daughter I wish I’d  had

Audacious smiles
laughter ringing clear-
warm hugs and
little sudden pecks on my cheeks!

A whirlwind of a girl;
now here, gone in a flash!
endearing entreaties-
unquestioning love!

Long long hours of girlish talk-
boys, books, heroes and men!
Life, love, trust and THAT!

Confiding giggles-
while ogling the boys…;)
summing them up, then
walking by in disdain!!

Cheering her up
when sadness strikes-
being there for her…
just in case, she asks!

Holding her hand-
without her knowing..
as only moms can do;
though she, being mine,
would know it too…!!!

Sharing myself with her-
my fears, my joys
my secrets, and my ploys-

Ending the day in warmth
so wonderful
so fierce and filling..

Wishing each mother had
a daughter..
so like mine!!

19 June, ’07

-Usha Pisharody

http://questforheaven.blogspot.in/2008/02/for-daughter-i-wish-id-had.html

I just love, love this Ushus:)

11.

THE MOMENT

The moment when, after many years
of hard work and a long voyage
you stand in the centre of your room,
house, half-acre, square mile, island, country,
knowing at last how you got there,
and say, I own this,

is the same moment when the trees unloose
their soft arms from around you,
the birds take back their language,
the cliffs fissure and collapse,
the air moves back from you like a wave
and you can’t breathe.

No, they whisper. You own nothing.
You were a visitor, time after time
climbing the hill, planting the flag, proclaiming.
We never belonged to you.
You never found us.
It was always the other way round.

— Margaret Atwood

This makes my breath stop.
The sheer power of her words.

 

12. Kitaabein jhaankti hain

Go to this link for a better understanding of the words if you are having some trouble in understanding the poem.
Kitaabein jhaankti hain

kitabein jhankti hain band almaari kay sheeshon se
badee hasrat se takti hain
maheeno ab mulaaqat nahi hoti
jo shamein in ki sohbat main kata karti thein,,,,ab aksar
guzar jaatee hain computer kay pardon par
badi bechain rahti hain kitabein
zaban par zaiqa aata tha jo in safhe palatne ka
ab ungli click karne se bas
ik jhapki guzarti hai
buhat kuch tah-b-tah khultaa chalaa jaataa hai parde par
kitabon se jo zaati rabta tha kat gaya hai
kabhi seeney pe rakh ke lait jaate the
kabhi godee mein rakhte thay
kabhi ghutno ko apne rahal ki soorat banah kar
neem sazade mein parhaa karte thay,chhoote jabhee se
khuda nay chaha to wo sara ilm to miltaa rahegaa baad mein bhee
magar who jo kitabon mein milaa karte thay sookhay phool
kitabein maangne,giraanay,uthaane kay bahaane rishty bante thay
unkaa kyaa hogaa
wo shayad ab nahi hongey!

There are many others. The list is never ending. Classics.

Elizabeth Barrett Browning’s ‘How Do I Love Thee?’
Lord Byron’s ‘She walks in beauty’
Robert Frost’s ‘The road not taken’ and ‘Stopping by woods on a snowy evening’
Rabindranath Tagore’s ‘Where the mind is without fear’ (This was our morning prayer in school)

Emily Dickinson ‘Hope is the thing with feathers’
Tennyson’s ‘The charge of the light brigade’
Whitman’s ‘O Captain! My captain!’
Walter Winter’s ‘If you think you are beaten’
‘When you are old’ by Yeats
Maya angelou’s ‘Phenomenal woman’
‘If’ by Kipling.

 

Quotation-Marvin-Bell-world-poetry-silence-Meetville-Quotes-268

 

 

 

Please feel free to tag yourself if you would love to share your favourites:)

Old posts on poetry
Khalish

Ek Kavi

5 Comments leave one →
  1. November 22, 2014 7:11 am

    ❤❤ Love love love this list, post, tag… endlessly🙂

    Thank you for the mention😛

    Will be back; got kids kids and a certain li'l princess at home now, but could not help myself coming over – poetry always calls to the soul🙂 and heart❤

    me- Thank you Ushus:)
    You are the one who got me hooked me to poetry. Before that it was an on off love affair. I still can’t write for nuts but I just love the words. Enjoy with the little one:)

  2. November 22, 2014 7:45 am

    Lovely, lovely poems. I thought Death is Nothing At All was the best when I read it and then it got better. Usha’s poem’s right up there, as is Atwood’s and the one of marriage.
    me- Those are my favourites too. Death is nothing at all is one that never fails to soothe.

    I love poetry even it I don’t seek out and read new stuff, don’t know why. School and ICSE english taught me to value it, a teacher who almost performed material with passion was a huge influence. Thanks for these new ones – shall come back and read them again. And seek them out more actively going forward.

    me- You read my mind. It was indeed the textbooks that taught me to value these gems in school. They enrich our lives in so many ways. Perhaps we can understand them better and in a deeper way as we grow older. Our experiences help us to do that as adults.

  3. pixie permalink
    November 22, 2014 9:09 am

    What a beautiful collection! I loved The Moment , Usha’s poetry , When I’m an old woman resonates perfectly and Amrita’s poetry🙂

    Thank you for sharing them🙂

    me- Thanks for taking the time to read them Pix:) The moment is a pretty powerful one .

  4. November 22, 2014 11:16 am

    WOW….loved this whole collection🙂
    And that one my Margaret Atwood is brilliant.
    Of course, Usha – those are amazing lines….especially when you mention about those holding hands, I miss my elder one❤
    And the one about death touched a chord…

    Even though I am not a great fan of poetry, some simple verses like these make an impression…thanks for sharing🙂
    me- What amazed me when I first read Usha’s poem is that she didn’t have daughters(ofcourse now she has two in the family and two outside) and that poem had such a strong sense of belonging still! Thanks for reading all of them Uma:)

  5. November 26, 2014 7:39 pm

    beautifully written
    me- Thanks sm. good to see you after long.

Leave a Reply

